Better Living Through (Flavor) Chemistry: Vacuum Ultraviolet Spectroscopy as a New Tool for GC Analysis of Terpenes in Flavors and Fragrances

Mar 28, 2018

Register Free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/flavor

Terpenes contribute greatly to our senses of smell and taste and thus are integral to industries like food and fragrance, cosmetics, and pharmaceuticals, among many others. Terpene analysis has traditionally been accomplished via gas chromatography-flame ionization detection (GC–FID) and GC-mass spectrometry (GC–MS).  Because many terpenes of interest are isomers, adequate separation and subsequently long run times are required to improve identification and quantification accuracy using either technique.  Gas chromatography–vacuum ultraviolet (GC–VUV) spectroscopy can spectrally distinguish isomers and deconvolve coeluted peaks, which ensures qualitative and quantitative accuracy while enabling significantly shorter GC run times. This webcast demonstrates the isomer differentiation and high throughput capabilities of GC–VUV through the analysis mono- and sesquiterpenes in a variety of samples, including essential oils, gins, hops, and cannabis. GC runs that traditionally took approximately 30 minutes were compressed to sub 9-minute run times by harnessing the unique capabilities inherent to GC–VUV.

 

Speakers:

Alex Hodgson, Applications Chemist, VUV Analytics, Inc.

 

Date and Time:

Live: Wednesday, 28 March, 2018 at 11 am EDT | 8 am PDT | 1600 BST | 1700 CEST

After the final airing of the webcast on 28 March, 2018 it will be available on demand until 28 March, 2019. 

Sponsor: VUV Analytics, Inc.

Register Free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/flavor

lorem ipsum