Editors' Series: Industrial Problem Solving Using Ion Chromatography

Apr 01, 2013
By LCGC Editors


Wednesday, April 24, 2013
8:00 AM PDT; 11:00 AM EDT; 15:00 GMT
Editors' Series: Industrial Problem Solving Using Ion Chromatography

Register Free >>

Ion Chromatography (IC) has become a mainstream technology for the analysis of anions and cations in a wide variety of samples. It is routinely used in many industrial applications where the ability to detect and quantify ions are very critical. Although IC is ideally suited for trace analysis (sub parts-per-million), it has been used for quantitation from the parts-per-trillion to the percent level.

Over the past decade, significant improvements were made in the column technology, detection options, and instrumentation, enabling IC to be a powerful separation technique with versatile detection. Owing to the diversity of sample matrices encountered in the industrial setting, sample preparation plays a vital role in the IC analysis. The ability to retain speciation information for the analyte of interest in the midst of sample preparation will be discussed. This web seminar will highlight the importance of IC for industrial problem solving and provide insights into some practical approaches used. Newer applications for IC in the area of total heteroatom determination using combustion-IC will also be introduced.

Sponsored by: Thermo Fisher Scientific