HPLC 2014 Agilent Technologies Best Poster Award Winners

May 19, 2014
By LCGC Editors

The 41st International Symposium on High Performance Liquid Phase Separations and Related Techniques took place from 11–15 May 2014 in New Orleans, USA. One of the highlights of the conference was the poster presentation sessions, which were entered into a competition for the Agilent Technologies Best Poster Award.  An international panel of scientists was invited to evaluate each poster on display using the criteria of inspiration, transpiration, and presentation. The winning candidates are as follows:

• Stephen Groskreutz from the University of Pittsburgh (Pennsylvania, USA) won the first place prize with his poster entitled “Modelling Temperature Assisted Solute Focusing in Capillary High Performance Liquid Chromatography”.

• Dina Lakayan from VU University Amsterdam (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) came in at second place with a poster entitled “Hyphenation of Surface Plasmon Resonance Optical Sensing to Size Exclusion Chromatography for Analysis of Antibody Preparations”.

• In joint third place were Alexander Siegle from the University of Heidelberg, (Heidelberg, Germany) with a poster entitled “Hadamard Transform Multiplexing LC: Boosting Throughput and Sensitivity of HPLC” and Suresh Kumar from Brigham Young University (Utah, USA) with a poster entitled “An Integrated Microfluidic-based System for Complete Analysis of Preterm Birth Biomarkers”.

Honourable mentions included the following candidates:

• Carmen Bria from the Colorado School of Mines, (Colorado, USA) presented a poster titled “Asymmetric Flow Field-flow Fractionation: A Method for Assessing Protein Aggregation Kinetics and Insoluble Protein Aggregates”.

• Adelina Smirnova from The University of Tokyo (Tokyo, Japan) presented a poster titled “Reversed-Phase Chromatography in Extended Nanospace for Amino Acids Separation”.

• Takuya Kubo from Kyoto University (Kyoto, Japan) presented a poster titled “C60-Fullerene Bonded Open-Tubular and Silica-Monolithic Capillaries for Liquid Chromatography”.

• Shunta Futagami from Kyoto University (Kyoto, Japan) presented a poster titled “Fabrication and Investigation of Pillar Array Columns Made of SU-8”.

• Sinead Currivan from the University of Pardubice (Pardubice, Czech Republic) presented a poster titled “Towards the Production of Highly Efficient Polymeric Monolithic Columns for HILIC Separations of Small Molecules”.

• Lars Erik Eng Eibak from the University of Oslo, (Oslo, Norway) presented “Parallel Electromembrane Extraction in a 96-Well Plate”.

lorem ipsum