Pittcon 2013 Award Winners Announced

Dec 14, 2012
By LCGC Editors

The Pittsburgh Conference on Analytical Chemistry and Applied Spectroscopy (Pittcon) 2013 award winners for scientists specializing in separation science have been announced. Each of the award winners will be presented with their awards in a series of prize-giving presentations at Pittcon in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, March 17–21, 2013.

The Society for Electroanalytical Chemistry (SEAC) – Young Investigator Award will be awarded to Bo Zhang, assistant professor of chemistry at the University of Washington, (Seattle, Washington). Research in the Zhang group is focused on the understanding of fundamental and applied aspects of electrochemistry and bioanalytical chemistry using nanoscale materials.

The newly established Robert Boyle Prize for Analytical Science will be given to Norman Dovichi, the Grace-Rupley Professor of Chemistry at Notre Dame University (Notre Dame, Indiana). The Royal Society of Chemistry has awarded the prize to Dovichi for pioneering development of ultrasensitive separations. Dovichi developed the first separations at zepto- and yoctomole levels and capillary electrophoresis-based DNA sequencing.

The ACS Division Of Analytical Chemistry Award For Young Investigators in Separation Science will be awarded to Kevin A. Schug, Shimadzu Distinguished Professor of Analytical Chemistry and Biochemistry at The University of Texas at Arlington, Texas, USA. Schug was selected for his outstanding contributions to separation science in the ten years since the completion of his PhD. He was previously awarded the international Emerging Leader in Chromatography Award sponsored by LCGC magazine in 2009, Schug’s research group focuses on using chromatographic techniques to understand systems of interest.

The Chromatography Forum Of The Delaware Valley Dal Nogare Award will be presented to Irving W. Wainer, senior investigator of clinical investigation at the National Institute on Ageing (Bethesda, Maryland). Wainer has published over 300 scientific papers, and has received a number of awards including the A.J.P. Martin Medal presented by the Chromatographic Society for contributions to the development of chromatographic science. Wainer’s research focuses on the effect of the disease state on drug metabolism, the development of chromatographic techniques for drug discovery and the development of bioanalytical methods for the determination of drugs within biological matrices.

For more information on the awards please visit: pittcon.org

lorem ipsum