Process and Specialty Gas Analysis Applications of Direct Mass Spectrometry

Apr 18, 2018

Register Free:

Many modern industrial uses of specialty gases require very high purities to ensure that yields are high, catalysts are not poisoned, and equipment is not damaged or subject to frequent maintenance.

In this webcast, we introduce selected ion flow tube mass spectrometry (SIFT-MS), a form of direct mass spectrometry that provides real-time detection of a wide range of volatile organic compounds and many inorganic gases to sub-part-per-billion concentrations (by volume; ppbv).

Then, applications of SIFT-MS to diverse process and specialty gas applications will be described, including:

  • reduced sulfur impurities in beverage-grade carbon dioxide
  • formaldehyde impurities in hydrogen fuel gas
  • metal carbonyls in carbon monoxide
  • siloxanes in landfill and biogas
  • ultratrace water analysis in nitrogen



Vaughan Langford, PhD, Principal Scientist (Applications), Syft Technologies, New Zealand

Mark Perkins, PhD, Senior Applications Chemist, Anatune Limited, United Kingdom


Date and Time:

North America Live: Wednesday, April 18, 2018 at 11 am EDT | 10 am CDT | 8 am PDT

After the final airing of the webcast on April 18, 2018 it will be available on demand until April 18, 2019. 

Sponsor: Syft Technologies  

Register Free:

lorem ipsum