Christopher Pohl Receives Uwe Neue Award at HPLC 2018

Aug 02, 2018
By LCGC Editors

The 2018 Uwe D. Neue Award in Separation Science was presented to Christopher Pohl of Thermo Fisher Scientific (Sunnyvale, California) during the opening plenary session on Sunday, July 29, at HPLC 2018 in Washington, D.C.

Chris Pohl (left) receives the 2018 Uwe Neue Award from Martin Gilar of Waters.Pohl is the vice president and senior technical advisor for the chromatography team at Thermo Fisher, guiding chemistry R&D in support of ion chromatography, high performance liquid chromatography (HPLC), and gas chromatography. Some of his most significant work includes the development of the accelerated solvent extraction technique, approaches for high pH separation of carbohydrates, the design of ion-exchange chromatography and ion chromatography stationary phases, and triple mixed-mode stationary phases. He has published approximately 120 papers and received 84 U.S. patents.

The Uwe D. Neue Award, sponsored by Waters Corporation (Milford Massachusetts), recognizes scientists that have made and continue to make significant contributions to the field of separation science, in honor of the legacy of Uwe D. Neue, late scientist and Waters Corporate Fellow. The award honors a distinguished industrial scientist, 15–20 years or more after receiving his or her degree, who has made a significant contribution to the field of separation science. 

lorem ipsum