Fundamental Questions

As you hurry through your daily work in the analytical laboratory, are you failing to ask yourself some fundamental questions about the methods you use and the results you produce?


This collection of short articles from LCGC’s digital magazine, The Column, raises four key questions you should ask. And if the answers aren’t what you hoped, we offer advice for addressing the gaps.


Read more.

Liquid Chromatography

Leading Light: Pavel Jandera

By Frantisek Foret

Pavel Jandera discusses building his own LC instrument, the birth of modern HPLC, the importance of exploring (and understanding) earlier research papers, and current trends in contemporary chromatography. He also offers inspiring advice for young chromatographers.

Mechanisms of Interaction Responsible for Alternative Selectivity of Fluorinated Stationary Phases

By Carmen T. Santasania, David S. Bell

This exploration of the fundamental interactions involved in PFP stationary phases will facilitate the choice of appropriate stationary phases and help analysts develop more robust and reliable methods.

Detective Work, Part IV: Chemical Problems with the Column: Chemical Attack

By John W. Dolan

The silica-based packing in reversed-phase columns is not inert. Here we consider what happens when the mobile phase pH is too high or too low.

Gas Chromatography

Thermal Desorption Sampling

By John V. Hinshaw

Thermal desorption facilitates analysis of otherwise intractable samples.

Split Injection GC: The Benefits of “Shoot-and-Dilute” GC

By Jack Cochran

Jack Cochran’s new column “Practical GC” aims to provide readers with practical advice and new experimental evidence for how to get the best results from their gas chromatography (GC) systems. The first article in a series on split injection GC focuses on the advantages of using “shoot-and-dilute” GC.

What Is “Dead” Volume and Why Should Chromatographers Worry About It?

By John V. Hinshaw

Dead-volume effects can cause serious trouble for chromatographers. But if you understand what dead volume is and how it affects chromatographic results, you can take control of it.

Mass Spectrometry

Combining Raman Imaging, Mass Spectrometry Imaging, and AFM

By LCGC Editors

Imaging techniques using vibrational spectroscopy, MS, and atomic force microscopy have all been advancing and gaining momentum in recent years. There is great potential power in these imaging techniques, particularly in the biomedical field. Here, Thomas Bocklitz of the Friedrich-Schiller- University Jena discusses his work combining these techniques.

Nontargeted Metabolite Profiling in Next-Generation Plant Breeding: A Case Study in Malting Barley

By Adam Heuberger, Corey D. Broeckling, Jessica Prenni, Kate Yu

The power of nontargeted metabolite profiling is illustrated in a study focused on the determination of molecular markers in malting barley.

MS Detection of Waste in Public Swimming Facilities

By Heather L. Rudolph, Troy D. Wood

Is your swimming pool clean and safe? Recreational water illness, most commonly in the form of digestive tract illness or skin, ear, or respiratory infections, is often caused by water contamination. The authors present a robust method, using solid-phase extraction and high-resolution mass spectrometry, for monitoring swimming pool water.

Sample Preparation

Trends in Sample Preparation

By Ronald E. Majors

A survey of LCGC readers on sample preparation techniques and methodology investigated trends in technologies being used, sample loads, sample sizes, automation, the use of SPE devices (cartridges, disks, plates, tips), SPE chemistries, selection criteria, and problems encountered.

Overview of Sample Preparation

By LCGC Editors

This first installment of the “Sample Prep Perspectives” column presents an overview of the primary manual and automated sample preparation techniques—methods that are much the same as those in use today.

New Sample Preparation Products and Accessories at Pittcon 2015

By Douglas E. Raynie

As expected, the new products introduced in the past year in the area of chromatographic sample preparation, while somewhat limited, mirror the current development in the field.

Partner Organizations

 

Sepu, China's Largest Chromatography Training Site

About Sepu

News from Sepu

 

Chinese American Chromatography Association (CACA)

About CACA

 

ChromAcademy

ChromAcademy Homepage

LCGC Blog

The LCGC Blog: Choosing the Right Sample Prep and Separation Tools for Food Analysis

By Kevin A. Schug

Food analysis provides a rich sample matrix with many compounds of interest for analysis to contemplate—but one must always take care that the right tool is chosen for the desired task.

System and Column Volumes in HPLC: We Still Haven’t Gotten the Message

By Tony Taylor

Some modern HPLC systems resemble spacecraft in terms of their technology, designed as they are to operate to the highest efficiencies, compared to traditional systems. However, I still see countless examples where high efficiency columns are used on systems which are not matched and cannot support the highest efficiencies offered by the column.

LCGC TV

LCGC TV player on LCGC homepage

LCGC Slideshows

Slideshow: Seven Common Faux Pas in Modern HPLC

Seven outdated traditional practices that should not be performed without considering alternative approaches that can improve results, provide lower operation costs, or give faster run times. Instead of working harder, analytical scientists should work smarter. Learn more by clicking through the slideshow.

Slideshow: The Top 10 HPLC and UHPLC Column Myths

Webster’s New Collegiate Dictionary defines a myth as “an ill-founded belief held uncritically, especially by an interested group.” Could that group be misinformed chromatographers?

Latest News

Xiaoli Wang Selected as Winner of the 2016 CACA Young Investigator Award

Xiaoli Wang has been selected as the winner of the first 2016 Young Investigator Award from the Chinese American Chromatography Association (CACA).

Crawford Scientific and YMC Europe Announce Distributor Deal

Crawford Scientific (Strathaven, UK) has announced that it will become YMC Europe’s (Dinslaken, Germany) sole authorized distributor within the UK.

Sciex and Pressure BioSciences Address Complex Sample Preparation

Sciex (Framingham, Massachusetts, USA) has announced a co‑marketing agreement with Pressure BioSciences, Inc. (South Easton, MA, USA), which aims to address the challenges arising in complex sample preparation.

Detection Markers in Trypanosomiasis

Researchers from Imperial College London and the University of Aberdeen have identified disease markers for Human African Trypanosomiasis (HAT), commonly known as “sleeping sickness”. Using reversed-phase ultrahigh‑performance liquid chromatography coupled to mass spectrometry (UHPLC–MS) and proton nuclear magnetic resonance (1H NMR) spectroscopy researchers found 53 discriminatory metabolite markers.

The Effect of Microwave and Electron Beam Treatments on Food and Packaging

A team of researchers based in France has examined the consequences of microwave and electron-beam treatments on food and its packaging using high performance liquid chromatography (HPLC) and gas chromatography (GC)

Webcasts

Redefing Dissolution Qualification - An In-Depth Examination of the USP PVT and the Ramifications of Moving to a Fully Mechanical Qualification

Tuesday, January 26, 2016 11am EDT/ 8am PDT/ 4pm BST/ 5pm CEST

 

A Basic Overview: Meeting the PIC/S Requirements for a Computerized Systems 

TUS Broadcast: Wednesday, January 27, 2016
9pm EST
Asia-Pacific Broadcast: Thursday, January 28, 2016
10 am CST/ 11 am JST
 

Data Integrity in Pharma QC Labs: What you need to Know

Thursday, February 11th, 2016

8 am CST / 9 am EST / 2 pm GMT / 3 pm CET

Wednesday, February 24th, 2016

8 am PST / 10 am CST / 11am EST / 4 pm GMT / 5 pm CET 


 

More Upcoming and On Demand Webcasts>>

LCGC eBooks

Pesticide Residue Analysis: Tips and Tricks for the Whole Workflow

This e-book, based on a series of four web seminars, provides pesticide residue analysts with valuable information from Thermo Fisher Scientific about the development and optimization of methods and workflows for the analysis of pesticide residues in food.

Go to E-Book Library>>

 

CHROMacademy

HPLC Column Dead Volume

If the hold-up volume (time) is the extra-column dead volume expressed in time or volume what is the column dead volume and how can it be calculated?

GC Troubleshooting in 20 Pictures (Part 1)

They say a picture paints a thousand words…This month I’ve taken inspiration from a recent webcast, presented at www.chromacademy.com, in which I presented real data from our work that represents some ‘classic’ GC problems.

lorem ipsum