Editors’ Series: Helium to Hydrogen: A Change Would Do You Good

Sponsored Content

Wondering whether you should switch away from helium as your GC carrier gas? Want to know what is involved in making such a change, and the pluses and minuses of the options? Join us for this educational webcast to hear from John Hinshaw, the longtime columnist of the LCGC “GC Connections” column, to learn about the relative merits of helium, hydrogen, and nitrogen as a GC carrier gas, in terms of cost, time, efficiency, and safety. Live: Wednesday, Dec. 18, 2019 at 11am EST | 8am PST | 4pm GMT | 5pm CET On demand available after final airing until Dec. 18, 2020 Register free

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/change

Event Overview:

Helium is the go-to carrier gas for most gas chromatographers, but staying with this tried-and-true option may be costing both time and money as well as separation efficiency. The majority of gas chromatography methods were developed using helium carrier. Today, with the increasing cost and scarcity of helium, the alternative hydrogen or nitrogen carriers have become much more attractive. The latter is an obvious choice. Suitable N2 is readily available from laboratory gas generators, is completely inert, and has about the same flow characteristics as helium. However, hydrogen offers a number of advantages by comparison: better efficiency, lower pressure drop, and higher purity. In this webcast we will explore reasons for the deprecation of helium, and then we will examine the relative merits of each of these three primary GC carrier gases. How do requirements for carrier cost, time, efficiency, and safety come together in your lab? Please attend this event to learn more.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Why you should consider switching away from helium as your GC carrier gas

  • The relative merits of helium, hydrogen, and nitrogen as a carrier gas, in terms of cost, time, efficiency, and safety

Speaker: John Hinshaw, PhD, Editor, GC Connections

Time and Date: Wednesday, Dec. 18, 2019 at 11am EST | 8am PST | 4pm GMT | 5pm CET

On demand available after final airing until Dec. 18, 2020

Sponsor: Parker Hannifin

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/change