Csaba Horvath Young Scientist Award Finalist Presentation


Gioacchino Luca Losacco from Merck & Company in Rahway, New Jersey, is a finalist for the Csaba Horvath Young Scientist Award. He will be presenting a paper at 5:15 pm entitled, “Automated Ion Exchange Chromatography Screening Combined with In Silico Multifactorial Simulation for Efficient Method Development and Purification of Biopharmaceutical Targets.” Co-authors include Michael B. Hicks,Jimmy DaSilva, Miraslava Potapenko, Fuh-Rong Tsay, Imad Haidar Ahmad,Ian Mangion, and Erik L. Regalado—all from Merck and Company, and Davy Guillarme from the University of Geneva, Switzerland.

The Csaba Horvath Award honors the memory of Csaba Horváth and recognizes his contributions to HPLC, including his interest in fostering the careers of young people in separation science and engineering. Candidates must be less than 35 years of age at the time of their lecture.

This year, 10 finalists, who were chosen by the Scientific Committee from submitted abstracts,will compete. Finalists will give their talks throughout the week, and the award will be presented during the closing ceremony on Thursday, June 23. The award includes an invitation to speak at the next HPLC symposium, a grant to support travel to that meeting, and a trophy engraved with the winner’s name.

At 5:45 to 6:00 PM Ken Broeckhovenwill present a paper on measurement and modeling of longitudinal diffusion in supercritical fluid applications. Coauthors are Timothy Januarius and Gert Desmet—all authors are affiliated with the Department of Chemical Engineering (CHIS) at the Vrije Universiteit Brussel in Brussels, Belgium.

Related Videos
Toby Astill | Image Credit: © Thermo Fisher Scientific