Editors' Series: Dealing with COVID-19: Longer-term Shutdown and Startup Considerations in the Chromatography Laboratory

Sponsored Content

In some extraordinary situations-like the current COVID-19 outbreak-we may be called upon to shut down individual chromatography instruments or an entire laboratory for an extended period. Join us for this web seminar for guidance on handling that process. Live: Monday, Apr. 6, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST On demand available after final airing Apr. 6, 2020 Register free

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/covid19_longterm

Event Overview:

In some extraordinary situations-like the current COVID-19 outbreak-we may be called upon to shut down laboratory operations or individual instruments for an extended period of time and even to leave the laboratory unattended. In this webinar, we will discuss considerations for shutting down, including safety, organization, and instrument care and advance preparation for re-start. Every laboratory is different, and each organization has its own protocols for extended shutdowns, so these should be consulted first. Shutting down a chromatograph or a whole chromatography laboratory requires more than just switching off the power and turning off the lights. The laboratory must be prepared for extended absence and for the safety of any non-laboratory personnel that may need to access the laboratory during the closure. Instruments must be shut down according to proper protocols, as defined by the manufacturer and in a manner that will facilitate a smooth start-up. Instruments and the laboratory can be prepared for rapid startup for when we eventually return to the lab. Overall, the primary considerations is the safety of laboratory personnel and others that may access the laboratory during a shutdown.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Considerations for shutting down your chromatography laboratory, including safety, organization, and instrument care and advance preparation for re-start.

  • How to properly shut down your GC, GC-MS, LC, and LC-MS instruments for an extended period

  • What preparations you can make now to facilitate the re-start of your laboratory later

  • Ensuring your laboratory is safe for access by non-laboratory personnel (such as security) during your absences

Speakers: Nicholas H. Snow, PhD, Founding Endowed Professor Chemistry and Adjunct Professor of Medical Science Biochemistry, Seton Hall University

Dwight R. Stoll, PhD, Professor and Co-Chair of Chemistry, Gustavus Adolphus College

Time and Date: Monday, Apr. 6, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

On demand available after airing until Apr. 6, 2021.

Sponsors: MilliporeSigma, the life science business of Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany

Agilent Technologies

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/covid19_longterm