Get in the Driver’s Seat: Guidance for Compliance with Vehicle Interior Air Quality Guidelines

June 17, 2020

Sponsored Content

Join this webcast to explore VIAQ analysis and regulation compliance strategies from industry experts. Live: Wednesday, Jun. 17, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST On demand available after final airing until Jun. 17, 2021 Register free

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/drivers_seat

Event Overview: 
Current voluntary regulations limiting the chemicals in vehicle cabins are set to become mandatory for all original equipment manufacturers (OEMs) selling vehicles to China, irrespective of the country of manufacture. The responsibility for demonstrating conformance with specified limits for volatile organic compound (VOC) levels in vehicle cabins rests with the car manufacturer. However, suppliers at all stages of the manufacturing chain need to be able to carry out testing of their products and materials in order to identify components causing high chemical emissions and to facilitate the development of low-emitting alternatives.

Join us as we:

  • Review the history of Vehicle Interior Air Quality (VIAQ) regulations, the current situation, where it looks like the regulations are going and how they affect automotive OEMs and their suppliers 

  • Recap traditional approaches to compliance, methodology and outline the theory of thermal desorption for VOC analysis

  • Discuss the details of a combined thermal desorption gas chromatography–mass spectrometry (TDGC-MS) approach for VOC analysis

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Learn about Vehicle Interior Air Quality (VIAQ) analysis and regulation compliance strategies from industry-expert Caroline Widdowson

  • Review the theory, methods, and techniques for sampling and analyzing VOC compounds in air and released from materials          

  • In-depth look at the techniques that identify and quantitate targeted and non-targeted compounds responsible for the adverse air quality produced by vehicle interior components

  • Solutions for overcoming common problems with VIAQ analysis 

  • Get details regarding a combined analytical approach for streamlining air sample analysis and reducing cost

Speakers: Caroline Widdowson, PhD, MBA, Markes International

Dwain Cardona, Vertical Marketing Manager - Environmental and Industrial, Thermo Fisher Scientific

Time and Date: Wednesday, Jun. 17, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

On demand available after final airing until Jun. 17, 2021

Sponsor: Thermo Fisher Scientific

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/drivers_seat

Related Content:

Webcasts