High Resolution GC–QTOF-MS for Routine Analysis of Dioxins and Targeted and Untargeted Screening in Environmental Matrices

October 20, 2020
Agilent

Sponsored Content

***Live: Thursday, Nov. 5, 2020 at 11am EST| 8am PST| 4pm GMT| 5pm CET*** In this webinar, we will report about validating a GC–QTOF-MS method to meet and exceed the performance characteristics of EPA 1613 for analysis of dioxins and other regulations. Furthermore, we will discuss a workflow combining targeted and non-targeted screening for analysis of environmental contaminants in water. On demand available after final airing until Nov. 5, 2021

Register free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/environmental_matrices

Event Overview:

Gas chromatography with time-of-flight mass spectrometry (GC–QTOF-MS) is a highly versatile tool capable of doing routine chemical quantification of regulated compounds while also performing non-targeted identification of emerging pollutants in environmental samples. In this webinar, we will report about validating a GC–QTOF-MS method to meet and exceed the performance characteristics of EPA 1613 for analysis of dioxins and other regulations. Furthermore, we will discuss a workflow combining targeted and non-targeted screening for analysis of environmental contaminants in water.

Due to their longevity and toxicity, dioxins, furans, and polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) are regulated compounds globally that need to be closely monitored in food and environmental matrices. Magnetic sector mass spectrometry is traditionally used in the analysis of dioxins, furans, and PCBs as these analytes share similar chemical characteristics suitable for selected ion monitoring (SIM). However, high-resolution GC–QTOF-MS is an easy to use, easy to maintain, high-stability, and more versatile alternative while meeting key performance criteria needed for dioxin monitoring.

In addition to targeted quantification of regulated compounds, non-targeted analysis of a large number of environmental pollutants is gaining traction and an area where GC–QTOF-MS excels. Broad scope targeted screening is based on an extensive accurate mass library of environmental contaminants, while an untargeted approach includes unit mass libraries search and takes advantage of a variety of tools and techniques for compound identification and confirmation. High resolution GC–QTOF-MS allows full spectrum acquisition with excellent mass accuracy and resolving power, and is ideal for analytes in complex matrices with coeluting compounds, resulting in the reduction of false positives. The study presented will demonstrate real-world applications of environmental screening and non-targeted identification of environmental pollutants.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • See how high resolution GC–QTOF-MS meets or exceeds regulatory performance requirements for the analysis of dioxins, furans, and PCBs in food and environmental matrices.
  • Learn about the targeted and untargeted screening workflow capabilities of quadrupole time-of-flight GC–MS, making it a very versatile technology
  • Find out how GC–QTOF mass spectrometry can increase your lab’s productivity through broad applicability, reduced training and maintenance costs

Speakers:

Roberto Riccio, Operational Manager, Biochemie LAB

Sofia Nieto, GC/MS Applications Chemist, Agilent Technologies, Inc.

Time and Date:

Wednesday, Oct. 7, 2020 at 11am EDT| 8am PDT| 4pm BST| 5pm CEST

On demand available after final airing until Oct. 7, 2021

Sponsor: Agilent

Register free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/environmental_matrices