Investigating the Power of Selectivity in Low Flow Separations – Opening New Doors

Webcasts

Monday, June 28, 2021 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST The goal of any chromatographic separation is the resolution of different analyte peaks from those with similar elution profiles. Join us to learn the three critical factors that govern the resolution of a critical pair.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/selectivity

Event Overview:

The goal of any chromatographic separation is the resolution of different analyte peaks from those with similar elution profiles. There are three critical factors that govern the resolution of a critical pair. The first is the retention of the analytes. The second is the column efficiency. The third, are arguably the most powerful, is the selectivity. The selectivity characterizes the differences in preferential interaction of an analyte with the column stationary phase versus mobile phase. The greater the difference there is between two closely eluting analytes in their preference for the mobile phase versus the stationary phase, the larger the elution time difference will be, and thereby the greater the resolution.

To optimize selectivity in liquid chromatography, there are two main tools at the disposal of the researcher: the composition of the mobile phase and the chemistry of the stationary phase. The options for different stationary phase chemistries in low-flow chromatography, especially in nano flow chromatography, have historically been very limited. In this presentation we will show the advantages of having a more diverse portfolio of available stationary phases chemistries in terms of optimizing the chromatographic resolution in low-flow chromatographic separations. We will also show how combining these more diverse stationary phase chemistries with next-generation higher efficiency silica supports can further enhance resolution and thereby mass spectrometry (MS) spectral quality.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Impact of stationary phase selection on low-flow columns and trap analysis
  • Learn how to improve overall method robustness and sensitivity microscale and nanoscale method development
  • Micro LC fundamentals and a selective approach to trap-and-elute and column strategies to increase method performance

Who Should Attend:

  • Analytical method developers looking to improve separation and method robustness
  • Analytical scientists needing to improve method sensitivity
  • Anyone new to oligonucleotide characterization by LC-MS

Speaker

Dr. Jason Anspach
Product Manager HPLC
Phenomenex

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/selectivity