LC-MS with Cation Exchange: Native Mass Spectrometry for Streamlining Charge Variant Analysis

Phenomenex
Sponsored Content

***Thursday, October 8, 2020 at 11am EDT| 8am PDT| 4pm BST| 5pm CEST*** Join us for this webcast to learn about a powerful LC method utilizing a novel low ionic strength pH gradient mobile phase capable of separation and identification of charge variants of mAbs. ***On demand available after final airing until Oct. 8, 2021***

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/cation_exchange​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​

Event Overview:

With advancements in both cation exchange chromatography (CEX) and high-resolution mass spectrometry (HRMS), there is a renewed interest in the characterization of charge variants for monoclonal antibodies (mAbs) and other therapeutic proteins using native mass spectrometry techniques. Although typical CEX analysis can successfully separate different isoforms and charge variants using UV detection and non-volatile buffers like phosphate or Good’s buffers suffice, for CEX hyphenated MS, it is imperative that volatile buffers be used.

In this webcast, we present a powerful LC method, utilizing a novel low ionic strength pH gradient mobile phase capable of separation and identification of charge variants of mAbs. When this mobile phase is coupled with HRMS and proper deconvolution software, charge variants can be identified without the need for fraction collection or multidimensional LC. The method, using a novel CEX column, provides sufficient resolution of the different charge variants, minimizing the spectral overlap that can occur between different variants when separation has not been optimized. The method is powerful enough to identify not only standard charge variants, such as lysine variants, but even various glycoforms including sialylated variants.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • How column selection can impact the separation of charge variants for mAbs
  • How to optimize chromatographic performance using a novel, pH gradient buffer
  • The importance of chromatography and deconvolution software in identification of charge variants

Speakers: Srinivasa Raostarted, Senior Scientist in R&D, Phenomenex

Laurence M. Brill, Ph.D., Principal and Sr. Scientist for Bioanalytical & Protein LCMS, Intertek

Time and Date: Live: Thursday, October 8, 2020 at 11am EDT| 8am PDT| 4pm BST| 5pm CEST

On demand available after final airing until Oct. 8, 2021

Sponsor: Phenomenex

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/cation_exchange