Metal-Free HPLC for Better Analytical Results

Metal-Free HPLC for Better Analytical Results

Webcast

Wednesday, March 2nd , 2022 at 11am EST | 8am PST | 4pm GMT | 5pm CET Dr. Jesse Bischof will be presenting studies showing the levels of the contamination in HPLC instrumentation caused by metal ion leaching into solution from a variety of metal alloys, as measured by ICP-MS. The surfaces once regarded for their inertness and corrosion resistance may not be as reliable as initially thought.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/metal_free

Event Overview:

Corrosion, metal ion leaching, and contamination are just a few problems that have led the HPLC industry to explore materials beyond stainless steel. Metals and materials like stainless steel, MP35N, Hastelloy, and titanium are chosen for their availability, robustness, bio-inertness, and corrosion resistance. While these materials will make mechanically strong valves, needles, tubing, columns, and more, they are vulnerable to metal ions leaching into solution. This presentation will cover:

  • Various methods for preventing metal ion leaching into the analyte flow path in high performance liquid chromatography (HPLC) systems.
  • How metal ion contamination can affect chemical analysis, creating poor analytical results in a wide range of applications, that goes well beyond biopharma and the analysis of proteins.
  • The extent of metal ion contamination into organic and aqueous solvents in HPLC systems from a variety of metal alloys as measured by ICP-MS.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Viewers can expect to learn how to improve their HPLC analyses by combining the utilization of metal alloys with reducing the amount of metal that can interact with solutions by incorporating chemical vapor deposition (CVD) coating technology, creating a metal-free flow path.

Who Should Attend:

  • Any researcher or product engineer that uses HPLC systems or chemical analysis tools made from stainless steel, titanium, Hastelloy, MP56N, ceramics, PEEK, or other polymers.

Speakers

Dr. Jesse Bischof
R&D Scientist
SilcoTek Corporation

Dr. Jesse Bischof began his career teaching high-school chemistry classes for two years before going to graduate school at The Pennsylvania State University where he earned his Ph.D. in Chemistry. Upon completion of his degree in 2016, Jesse began his role as a researcher in SilcoTek's Research and Development department. Jesse’s expertise has helped customers in the medical and analytical markets to improve part performance, material characterization, and instrumentation. Currently, Jesse's research is focused on developing and optimizing bio-inert coatings as well as anti-fogging coatings.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/metal_free