Metal Ion Leaching May Be Affecting Your Analytical Results in HPLC

Webcast

***Live: Friday, February 26, 2021 at 11am EST | 8am PST | 4pm GMT | 5pm CET*** Dr. Jesse Bischof will be presenting the contamination results of metal ion leaching into solution from a variety of metal alloys as measured by ICP-MS. The surfaces once regarded for their inertness and corrosion resistance may not be as reliable as initially thought. ***On demand available after final airing until Feb. 26, 2022***

Register Free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/metal_ion

Event Overview:

Stainless steel, titanium, and Hastelloy are the metals of choice for numerous chemical analysis instruments in HPLC such as valves, needles, tubing, filters and more. These metals are typically chosen for their respective benefits such as stainless steel’s availability and robustness, titanium’s bio-inertness, and Hastelloy’s superior corrosion resistance. While these choices are superior in mechanical strength, they, like all metals, are vulnerable to leaching of metal lions into solution. This presentation will cover:

  • The extent of metal ion contamination into organic and aqueous solvents from a variety of metal alloys as measured by ICP-MS
  • The contamination metal ion leaching can have on chemical analysis, creating poor analytical results
  • Methods for preventing these metal ions from leaching into the analyte flow path

Key Learning Objectives:

  • How metal ion leaching can negatively influence chemical analysis
  • The extent of metal ion leaching from a variety of alloys into organic and aqueous solvents (measured by ICP-MS)
  • How to prevent metal ion leaching into the analyte flow path

Speaker: Jesse Bischof, Ph.D., R&D Scientist, SilcoTek Corporation

Time and Date: Friday, February 26, 2021 at 11am EST | 8am PST | 4pm GMT | 5pm CET

Sponsor: SilcoTek

Register Free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/metal_ion