Non-targeted Screening for Environmental Water Quality Monitoring

November 14, 2019
Thermo Fisher Scientific

Sponsored Content

Emerging contaminants and non-targeted screening: Can we confidently identify those “known-unknowns” and “unknown-unknowns”? Join Dr. Andrea Brunner of the KWR Water Research Institute, to discover more about the challenges and solutions to this problem. Live: Thursday, Nov. 14, 2019 at 11am EST | 8am PST | 4pm GMT | 5pm CET On demand available after airing until Nov. 14, 2020 Register free

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/quality_monitoring

Event Overview:
The ever-increasing production and use of chemicals augment their occurrence in drinking water and its sources to an extent that monitoring, using targeted chemical analyses alone, is no longer sufficient. Complementary methods that can detect a multitude of chemicals simultaneously, referred to as suspect and non-target screening, are required, and must also be able to detect mobile and polar compounds in low concentrations.

These methods rely on liquid chromatography coupled to high resolution mass spectrometry in combination with novel data analysis workflows. The range of challenges in their application and strategies to overcome these will be presented, such as the identification of “known unknowns” and “unknown unknowns” in different water matrices and the confidence thereof, the automation of non-target screening data analysis, and the use of cheminformatics and data mining for the prioritization of suspect chemicals.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Understand the challenges of ensuring water quality

  • How to confidently identify “known unknown” and “unknown unknown” emerging contaminants

  • Automation and streamlining of complex data analysis

Speaker: Dr. Andrea Mizzi Brunner, Scientific Researcher, KWR

Time and Date: Thursday, Nov. 14, 2019 at 11am EST | 8am PST | 4pm GMT | 5pm CET

On demand available after airing until Nov. 14, 2020

Sponsor: Thermo Fisher Scientific

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/quality_monitoring