Optimizing Your Performance, Efficiency, and Budget for Organic Drinking Water Methods

May 5, 2020

Sponsored Content

Optimizing GC organic drinking water methods for maximum efficiency, cost savings and accuracy Tuesday, May 5, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST On demand available after airing until Apr. 22, 2021 Register free

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/optimizing_performance

Event Overview:

Maintaining safe drinking water requires rigorous testing of approximately 100 substances to achieve compliance and safe water. Organic contaminants, including volatile and semi-volatile compounds, account for the majority of the regulated analytes in drinking water. For most of these organic compounds, gas chromatography (GC) or GC–mass spectrometry (GC-MS) is the preferred technique for testing.

We are pleased to invite you to this live webcast with Lee Marotta, an expert Application Scientist with PerkinElmer, who will present and lead an engaging discussion focused on the latest techniques and analyses in drinking water testing.

Key methods and best practices that will be discussed include: 

  • EPA Method 508: Determination of Chlorinated Pesticides, Herbicides, and Organohalides by L/S Extraction and ECD GC
  • Reducing solvent use in the laboratory

  • Eliminating the solvent exchange step

  • Using a single quadrupole MS instead of electron capture detection (ECD)

  • EPA Method 524: VOC Measurement of Purgeable Organic Compounds in Water by GC–MS
  • Easily meeting criteria in all three carrier gases​​​​

  • EPA Method 552: Determination of Haloacetic Acids and Dalapon in Drinking Water by L/L Microextraction, Derivatization, and GC w/ECD
  • Proven tips in keeping the method robus

  • Geosmin and MIB:
  • How to easily attain a 0.5 part per trillion (ppt) detection limit and which technique should be used
  • Headspace Trap with GC–MS

  • SPME with GC–MS

  • Portable GC–MS

Speaker: Lee Marotta, Principal Field Application Scientist, PerkinElmer, Inc

Time and date: Tuesday, May 5, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

On demand available after airing until May 5, 2021. 

Sponsor: PerkinElmer

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/optimizing_performance