Rapid Analysis of mRNA 5’ Capping and Poly-A Tailing with High-Resolution LC-MS

Webcast

Tuesday, January, 11th, 2022 at 9am EST | 3pm CET | 2pm GMT Tuesday, January, 11th, 2022 at 2pm EST | 11am PST | 7pm GMT Join us in our expert discussion of Rapid Analysis of mRNA 5’ Capping and Poly-A Tailing with High-Resolution LC-MS. See how mRNA capping can be analyzed by LC-MS within 75 minutes!

Register Free: https://www.biopharminternational.com/bp_w/mrna

Event Overview:

Industrial-scale production of mRNA has taken on renewed importance due to the on-going pandemic. Efficient translation of mRNA to protein depends critically on: (i) 5’-terminal capping, and (ii) 3’ terminal polyadenylation, which can be considered critical quality attributes to be characterized and monitored.

This presentation will show that:

  • mRNA capping can be analyzed by LC-MS within 75 minutes by taking advantage of a thermostable enzyme to rapidly liberate 5’ terminal oligonucleotides.
  • Certain enzymes commonly used during in vitro transcription can incorporate non-templated nucleotides into both 5’ and 3’ terminal regions.
  • Non-templated nucleotides can be considered product-related impurities and can be detected and quantified by LC-MS.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • LC-MS is a robust, sensitive and specific technology for quality control of mRNA.
  • Workflows for analysis of mRNA 5’ capping and poly-A tailing
  • Detection and characterization of product-related impurities stemming from incorporation of non-templated nucleotides

Who Should Attend:

  • Biopharmaceutical scientists
  • Lab managers

Speakers

Brian Liau, Ph.D.
Solution Development Scientist
Agilent Technologies

Brian Liau obtained his bachelor’s degree at Johns Hopkins University and his PhD at Duke University. Currently based at Agilent’s Global Solution Development Center in Singapore, he develops new LC-MS and spectroscopic techniques to ensure the quality and safety of next-generation therapies such as AAV vectors and mRNA vaccines. Prior to joining Agilent, he was a research fellow at the Bioprocessing Technology Institute (A*STAR).

Register Free: https://www.biopharminternational.com/bp_w/mrna