Recent Advances In The Routine Analysis of Dioxins in Food and Environmental Samples

Agilent Technologies
Sponsored Content

***Live: Thursday, October 15, 2020 at 10am EDT | 3pm BST | 4pm CEST*** In this webcast we will present how we implemented triple quadrupole GC–MS for the routine analysis of dioxins in environmental and food samples according to EPA and SANTE guidelines. *** On demand available after final airing until Oct. 15, 2021.***

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/dioxins_in_food

Event Overview:

Dioxins are listed as persistent organic pollutants under the Stockholm Convention, a worldwide treaty aimed at minimizing the emissions of these compounds. The use of triple quadrupole GC–MS has gained traction for the routine analysis of dioxins, based on achievable productivity gains, ease of use, and versatility for high throughput environmental and food testing labs. In addition to providing excellent analytical performance for dioxins, triple quadrupole GC–MS can be used for other routine testing, of analytes like pesticides, semi-volatile organic compounds, PAHs, nitrosamines, and others. Triple quadrupole GC–MS also offers a reduced complexity workflow compared to magnetic sector instruments, keeping training requirements manageable and significantly reducing operating costs and routine maintenance.

In this webcast we will present how we implemented triple quadrupole GC–MS for the routine analysis of dioxins in environmental and food samples according to EPA and SANTE guidelines. We will discuss technological advances like a high efficiency source, allowing routine testing labs to easily meet regulatory performance criteria set by USEPA 1613 for environmental samples and EU 644/2017 for food samples. Further, we will discuss how the use of hydrogen carrier gas can significantly reduce lab operating costs compared to helium while still meeting regulatory limits of detection.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Learn how the use of triple quadrupole GC–MS for routine dioxin analysis can improve your lab’s productivity
  • Find out how Eurofins carries out dioxin analysis in environmental samples with performance criteria equivalent to EPA 1613B
  • See how technological advances in triple quadrupole GC–MS enable dioxin analysis in food according to EU 644/2017 guidelines

Speakers: Robert (Bob) Symons, Regional Technical Manager, Eurofins Environment Testing Australia

Frank Neugebauer, Senior Scientist, Head of Special Parameter Unit, Eurofins GfA Lab Service, Hamburg, Germany

Time and Date: Thursday, October 15, 2020 at 10am EDT | 9am CDT | 3pm BST| 4pm CEST

On demand available after final airing until Oct. 15, 2021

Sponsor: Agilent

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/dioxins_in_food