Recruiting Lab Staff that Will Grow your Cannabis Testing Business

Webcasts

Tuesday, June 7th, 2022 at 2pm EDT | 11am PDT | 7pm BST | 8pm CEST Join Benjamin Southwell and Derek Wright from Lake Superior State University to learn some strategies for developing a highly qualified cannabis testing workforce and providing on going professional development to keep pace with the rapidly evolving cannabis industry.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/recruit_grow

Event Abstract:

The rapid growth of the cannabis industry has provided an opportunity for scientists to be part of an emerging high demand field. Cannabis labs face a significant challenge in determining appropriate employee qualifications based on the wide variety of required testing platforms. These broad qualifications lead to challenges recruiting qualified applicants. Strategies for developing a highly qualified workforce and providing on going professional development to keep pace with the rapidly evolving industry will be presented.

Key Learning Objectives:

  1. Strategies for developing a highly qualified workforce
  2. Approaches for rapid workflow specific training
  3. Utilizing partnerships with instrument vendors

Who Should Attend:

  • Future or current cannabis lab managers
  • Future or current cannabis testing lab analysts and chemists
  • Entrepreneurs considering starting a cannabis testing lab

Speakers

Benjamin Southwell
Assistant Professor
Lake Superior State University

Benjamin Southwell holds a bachelor’s and Master’s degree in Chemistry from Lake Superior State University (LSSU) and Central Michigan University, respectively. With a research focus on studying the analytics of cannabinoids and terpenes in cannabis products as the Coordinator for the LSSU Cannabis Center of Excellence. Currently he instructs courses in Forensic, Analytical, and Cannabis Chemistry.

Derek Wright
Associate Professor
Lake Superior State University

Dr. Derek Wright is an Associate Professor of Environmental Science at Lake Superior State University. Dr. Wright earned his Ph.D. in Environmental Science from Rutgers University. He has over 20 years of experience with trace element analysis by ICP-MS, ICP-OES, MP-AES, and AAS.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/recruit_grow