Routine Lab Procedures Are Easy to Apply to Direct MS

Sponsored Content

Are you intrigued by the benefits of direct mass spectrometry-particularly for analytes that fall into the awkward gap between GC and LC-but concerned about the complications of adopting a new technology into your routine work? Join us for this webcast, the second of a four-part series, to learn how direct mass spectrometry, in the form of SIFT-MS, can be easily integrated into your routine workflows. We’ll provide examples from environmental, consumer product, and biomedical laboratory testing, as well as a head-to-head comparison of GC–MS and SIFT-MS for headspace analysis of volatiles in blood plasma. Live: Jun. 8, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST On demand available after airing until Jun. 8, 2021 Register free

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/streamline_routine_volatiles_analysis_series

Event Overview:

Part 2 of a 4 Part Series: Streamline Routine Volatiles Analysis-Filling the Awkward Gap Between GC and LC

In this webcast (the second of a four-part series) we answer the frequently asked question: “How can I adopt direct mass spectrometry in my routine analysis workflow?” By combining direct mass spectrometry-in the form of selected ion flow tube mass spectrometry (SIFT-MS)-with conventional laboratory automation, most routine analytical procedures and techniques are readily applied. Examples include the use of sequence tables, full calibration approaches (including Quality Control Circles, or QCCs), and the use of standard additions.

Adaptation of these routine procedures and techniques to automated SIFT-MS will be illustrated with case studies applicable to environmental, consumer product, and biomedical laboratory testing. In particular, a head-to-head comparison of GC–MS and SIFT-MS for headspace analysis of volatiles in blood plasma will be described.

After this webcast, you can learn about method validation approaches in the third webcast in this series.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Very brief introduction to SIFT-MS and its automation for those who missed Part 1

  • How easy it is to adapt existing, proven laboratory procedures and techniques to SIFT-MS

  • Examples of routine analysis techniques using SIFT-MS with relevant case studies covering sequence tables, calibration, QCCs, SSTs, standard additions, and internal standards

  • A head-to-head comparison of GC–MS and SIFT-MS for headspace analysis of volatiles in blood plasma

Speakers: Mark Perkins, PhD, Senior Applications Chemist, Anatune Limited, United Kingdom

Vaughan Langford, PhD, Principal Scientist, Syft Technologies, New Zealand

Time and date: Monday, Jun. 8, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

On demand available after airing until Jun. 8, 2021.

Sponsor: Syft Technologies Inc.

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/streamline_routine_volatiles_analysis_series