Simple, Accurate and Reliable Quantification of THC and CBD in Cannabis-Infused Chocolate Edibles, Pastries and Candies (Rebroadcast)

Webcast

Wednesday, November 2nd, 2022 at 2pm EDT|11am PDT|7pm BST|8pm CEST Chocolate is a complex matrix, rich in protein, fat and cocoa, making it particularly challenging to analyze. In this seminar, you will learn a simple and optimized procedures to grind samples, extract cannabinoids, and quantify the cannabinoids by LC-UV.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc/chocolate

Event Overview:

Accurate measurement of THC and CBD in samples with high-fat content like chocolate, brownies and cookies is important for safety and legal reasons but also to ensure proper labelling on commercially available products. Chocolate is a complex matrix, rich in protein, fat and cocoa, making it particularly challenging to analyze. In this seminar, you will learn a simple and optimized procedures to grind and extract cannabinoids and to quantify the cannabinoids by LC-UV. Emphasis will be put on simple sample preparation and minimized cost per sample. Accuracy, precision, and linear response over multiple days for the target analytes will be demonstrated. These optimized procedures will provide clean samples, good robustness, and enhanced sensitivity for potency testing in cannabis-infused chocolate, pastries and candies.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • How to simplify sample preparation of edibles for potency testing
  • How to increase accuracy
  • Reduce operational costs with optimized procedures


Who Should Attend:

  • Bench chemists
  • Method development / R&D chemists
  • Lab managers
  • Lab directors

Speakers:

Jean-Francois Roy, Agilent Mass Spec Application Scientist, Agilent

Jean-Francois has been working at Agilent for nearly 13 years, in various roles with a common theme: mass spectrometry (MS). His current position of MS Application Scientist has led him to get involved in multiple pre-sales and post-sales activities, supporting the Canadian market. His home base is Montreal, and he has been involved for the past three years in developing methodologies revolving around Canada-focused cannabis testing.

Christophe Deckers, Agilent Sample Prep Application Engineer, Agilent

Christophe Deckers completed his Bachelor in Biochemistry at l' Universite du Quebec à Montreal. He was then introduced to fundamental research during his Chemistry Masters degree in the leading Laboratory of Molecular Medicine directed by professor emeritus Richard Beliveau. He has previously worked at St-Justine’s Hospital, doing cancer research using multiple chromatographic and sample preparation techniques.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc/chocolate