So You Want to Switch from Helium to Hydrogen Carrier Gas?

Webcast

***Live: Friday, December 4, 2020 at 11am EST| 8am PST| 4pm GMT| 5pm CET *** How do requirements for gas chromatography (GC) carrier cost, time, efficiency, and safety come together in your laboratory? Please attend this event to learn more. ***On demand available after final airing until Dec. 4, 2021***

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/switch

Event Overview: Helium is the go-to carrier for most gas chromatographers, but staying with this tried-and-true option may be costing both time and money as well as separation efficiency. Today, with the high cost and scarcity of helium, the alternative hydrogen or nitrogen carrier gases have become much more attractive. Nitrogen is an obvious choice. Suitable N2 is readily available from laboratory gas generators, is completely inert, and has about the same flow characteristics as helium. However, hydrogen offers a number of advantages over nitrogen: better efficiency, lower pressure drop, and higher purity. In this webcast we will explore reasons for the deprecation of helium, and then we will examine the relative merits of each of these three primary GC carrier gases. How do requirements for carrier cost, time, efficiency, and safety come together in your lab? Please attend this event to learn more.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Why you should consider switching away from helium as your GC carrier gas
  • The relative merits of helium, hydrogen, and nitrogen as carrier gases, in terms of cost, time, efficiency, and safety

Speaker: John Hinshaw, PhD, Sr. Research Scientist, Serveron Corporation

Times and Dates: Friday, December 4, 2020 at 11am EST| 8am PST| 4pm GMT| 5pm CET

On demand available after final airing until Dec. 4, 2021

Sponsor: Parker

Register free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/switch​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​