The Helium Shortage & Your Lab

Webcast

Thursday May 19th, 2022 11 am EDT | 8 am PDT | 5 pm CET | 3 pm GMT Join us as we discuss the global helium shortage and the steps labs can take to ensure they are not affected by unplanned disruptions.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/Helium

Event Overview:

The lab world is in the midst of helium shortage 4.0 which has come hot on the heels of helium shortage 3.0. With shortages becoming more commonplace, how are labs being affected by this and how can they safeguard their analysis from gas supply disruptions? Join us in this webinar where we will discuss the global helium shortage, the impact this can have on labs, and the alternatives to keep your GC and GC–MS analysis running. In particular, we will address the following questions:

  • What has caused this newest global helium shortage?
  • How long is it likely to last?
  • What can labs do to avoid disruptions from future shortages?

Key Learning Objectives:

  • How will the helium shortage affect your lab?
  • What are the alternatives to helium for your GC and GC–MS?
  • How you can avoid downtime in your lab

Who Should Attend:

Lab technicians, lab managers, lab equipment procurement, lean management personnel

Speakers

Dr. Ed Connor
Project Manager
Peak Scientific

Ed Connor joined PEAK Scientific in February 2013 as a GC product specialist and now functions as a Product Manager. He has been working on a number of collaborative projects with PEAK customers and the major instrument manufacturers worldwide. The main focus of these collaborations has been to look at conversion from helium to hydrogen or nitrogen carrier gas for GC applications, but he has also worked on ELSD nitrogen gas solutions and nitrogen generators for LC–MS instruments. Prior to joining PEAK, Ed completed his Dr.Sc. at ETH Zurich in 2007 using GC–MS to look at herbivore-induced plant volatiles and their interaction with beneficial insects. He then joined the University of Zurich where his work focused primarily on floral volatile analysis using a variety of volatile collection methods, GC–MS and GC-FID.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/Helium