AOF Analysis by Combustion IC—A Sum Parameter Enhancing the Determination of PFAS in Environmental Water Matrices

Webcasts

Tuesday, September 7, 2021 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST Join us for this webcast to learn an approach to enhance the determination of PFAS in environmental water matrices. This webinar presents a procedure for the detection of adsorbed organically bound fluorine (AOF) by means of combustion ion chromatography (CIC) developed with the aim to establish a rapid and fully automated screening test to complement LC–MS/MS single-substance analysis of PFAS for aqueous environmental matrices.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/pfas

Event Overview:

Due to their toxicity and biomagnification, potential per- and polyfluorinated alkyl substances (PFAS) have been studied in environmental samples using liquid chromatography–tandem mass spectrometry (LC–MS/MS). A number of ecological and epidemiological studies have shown a ubiquitous distribution of PFAS. The significance of these studies is, however, limited due to the fact that it is not possible to individually identify the more than 4700 PFAS compounds that have to date been registered and put into commercial use.

This webinar presents a procedure for the detection of adsorbed organically bound fluorine (AOF) by means of combustion ion chromatography (CIC) developed with the aim to establish a rapid and fully automated screening test to complement LC–MS/MS single-substance analysis for aqueous environmental matrices. Samples from natural watercourses, sewage, groundwater, and wastewater were analyzed in order to estimate the AOF concentration in environmental matrices. The AOF values of the surface water samples were higher than the AOF concentrations in the final effluent of communal sewage treatment plants, showing that industrial sewage treatment plants may therefore represent a substantial source of AOF.

The CIC-AOF method makes possible a reliable and meaningful "first summary view" of the PFAS contamination, facilitating an optimized planning of studies on environmental water matrices.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Recent developments in analysis of fluorine in PFAS in environmental markets
  • Learn about using combustion ion chromatography (CIC) as fully automated screening test to complement LC–MS/MS single-substance analysis for aqueous environmental matrices

Who Should Attend:

  • Water utility operators interested in screening analysis of PFAS for compliance monitoring
  • Scientists interested in the latest developments in analytical methods
  • Lab managers who are considering new IC instrumentation for these applications

Speakers

Eleonora von Abercron
Staff scientist, organic contaminants, environmental analysis
Hessian State Laboratory (LHL)

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/pfas