Combustion Ion Chromatography: The What, How, Why, and Where

Webcast

Wednesday, February 23rd, 2022 at 1pm EST | 10am PST | 6pm GMT | 7pm CET Join us for this event to learn about the basic concepts and capabilities of combustion ion chromatography (CIC), understand what types of samples can be analyzed with the technique, and to gain awareness of common ASTM test methods in the petrochemical industry that utilize CIC.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/combustion

Event Overview:

It might seem intuitive to burn a polymer to understand its composition, but what about water? Using combustion to break apart molecules is not new, but it is gaining some new applications, especially in ion chromatography (IC). Combustion IC (CIC) overcomes many sample preparation challenges and quickly dissects a sample into easily understandable ionic components, which can be analyzed using ion chromatography.

During this webinar, Jay Sheffer, will introduce basic concepts in CIC analysis with practical, industry-based applications. He will review ASTM methodologies in the petrochemical industry, as well as new environmental application areas for analysis of PFAS-related chemicals using CIC. Jay will also present exemplary data from these methods to help you gain a better understanding of combustion ion chromatography. Don’t miss the live Q&A session at the conclusion of this presentation for the chance to address your specific questions.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Develop an understanding of basic concepts and capabilities of Combustion IC
  • Understand what types of samples that can be analyzed using Combustion IC
  • Gain awareness of common ASTM test methods in the petrochemical industry that utilize Combustion IC technology

Who Should Attend:

This webinar is ideal for lab chemists, technicians, quality control personnel, and lab managers who are new to combustion ion chromatography (CIC) analysis and CIC instrumentation as well as those who are involved with method development, or those who need to learn the basics of combustion IC and its common applications.

Speakers

Jay D. Sheffer, M.S.
Product Specialist – Ion Chromatography
Metrohm USA

Jay Sheffer is a Product Specialist in Ion Chromatography with Metrohm USA. Jay has a BS in chemistry from Elon University and received his master’s degree in analytical chemistry from Emory University. He has been with Metrohm USA for 10 years starting off as an Applications Specialist focusing on ion chromatography and combustion IC and moving into his current IC Product Specialist role in 2017. Jay has over 20 years of experience in developing new products and applications for laboratory analysis. Jay has also been an active member with ASTM for nine years and has developed several test methods using IC and Combustion IC in the petroleum market.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/combustion