Cutting-Edge Analysis of Industrial Organic Chemicals with GC-TOFMS and MALDI-TOFMS

October 26, 2020
JEOL

Webcast

***Live: Monday, November 16, 2020 at 11am EST| 8am PST| 4pm GMT| 5pm CET ***Interested in the analysis of polymeric materials? Join us for a webinar on GC-TOFMS, MALDI-TOFMS and their application to polymeric materials.***On demand available after final airing until Nov. 16, 2021***

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/cutting-edge

Event Overview: We will showcase the use of gas chromatography-time-of-flight mass spectrometry (GC-TOFMS) and matrix-assisted laser desorption/ionization-TOFMS (MALDI-TOFMS) techniques for the analysis of polymeric materials. These methods will be illustrated with the composition analysis of UV-curable resins, tracking analysis of epoxy curing, and other examples. In the section of compositional analysis of UV-curable resin, the importance of separation for MS analysis will be explained. By using GPC fractionation, the structures of the monomer, photo-initiator, reactive oligomer, and polymer, which were difficult to identify by bulk analysis, were clearly identified. In the section of tracking analysis of epoxy curing, the effectivity of a KMD plot will be presented. Generally, a KMD plot is used for the analysis of the polymer terminal group. In this example, we undertook to reveal the mechanism of epoxy curing. As a result, it was possible to visualize reaction behavior at the initial stage of the reaction.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Methods for analysis of polymeric materials: GC-TOFMS and MALDI-TOFMS
  • How these techniques can be used in reverse engineering of a UV resin
  • Latest approaches to mass analysis of a surfactant mixture and tracking of epoxy curing

Speakers: Hirotaka (“Taka”) Shioji, Ph.D., Manager of Organic Analysis Laboratories in Toray Research Center, Toray Research Center

John Dane, Ph.D., MS Product Manager, JEOL USA, Inc

Times and Dates: Monday, November 16, 2020 at 11am EST| 8am PST| 4pm GMT| 5pm CET

On demand available after final airing until Nov. 16, 2021

Sponsor: JEOL

Register free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/cutting-edge ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​

Related Content:

Webcasts