Dealing with a Volatile Relationship: Using Purge and Trap and GC–MS to Improve Volatile Organic Compound Workflows

March 25, 2020
Thermo Fisher Scientific

Sponsored Content

Improving VOC analysis, while maintaining compliance, day in and day out can be challenging. How can your lab improve productivity and maintain current work streams? Live: Wednesday, Mar. 25, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 3pm GMT | 4pm CET On demand available after final airing until Mar. 25, 2021 Register free

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/purge_trap

Event Overview: 
Routine drinking water analysis laboratories face the daily challenge of analyzing large numbers of samples, while maintaining competitive cost per sample and increasing profitability. With restrictive method parameters for volatile organic compound (VOC) analysis, the areas in which purge and trap workflows can be improved for productivity gains are limited. Changes to existing lab methods can improve efficiency, but few changes have the potential for large impact. Additionally, the option of new EPA method adoption provides new opportunities with methodology flexibility, but new methods often interrupt work streams and require additional training among other challenges. Instrument providers offer various solutions that can assist in productivity enhancement. Choosing the best solution that will have the greatest impact should be strategic to ensure the continued success of environmental analysis labs.

In this webcast, our experts will guide you through a review of current regulatory requirements for purge and trap (P&T) analysis. We will also outline the challenges that commonly extend or negatively impact P&T workflows for EPA methods. Tekmar P&T experts will also outline the specific advantages of the Teledyne Tekmar purge and trap system combined with Thermo Scientific GC–MS systems with real sample data examples. Finally, we will review the potential overall impact of our solutions to help guide your lab in choosing the solution that best addresses VOC workflow needs.  

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Review of the regulatory requirements for VOC analysis using P&T

  • Learn about the challenges of routine P&T drinking water analysis

  • Explore the details and benefits of the Teledyne Tekmar P&T and Thermo Scientific GC–MS systems and their impact on lab productivity and efficiency

Speakers: Amy Nutter, Senior VOC Applications Chemist, Teledyne Tekmar

Adam Ladak, Global Product Marketing Manager GC–MS, Thermo Fisher Scientific

Time and Date: Wednesday, Mar. 25, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 3pm GMT | 4pm CET

On demand available after final airing until Mar. 25, 2021

Sponsor: Thermo Fisher Scientific

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/purge_trap