Miniaturized Separations and Increased Sensitivity—What to Expect When Moving to Micro- and Nano-Scale HPLC

October 22, 2020
Phenomenex

Webcast

***Live: Thursday, November 12, 2020 at 11am EST| 8am PST| 4pm GMT| 5pm CET*** What can you expect when moving to micro- and nano-scale HPLC? Join us for this webcast to learn about tools for micro- and nano-scale HPLC that are now available, in terms of new column technologies, injection modes (trap and elute), and separation condition strategies, and even connection systems that can help with the miniaturization of analytical scale separations to micro and nano scale. ***On demand available after final airing until Nov. 12, 2021***

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/nano_scale

Event Overview:

As modern mass spectrometry (MS) instruments have become ever increasingly more sensitive, the limiting factor of the relative ionization efficacy has remained a constraint. The limit to any mass spectrometer’s sensitivity is the amount of sample that gets ionized and subsequently introduced into the detector. The sensitivity challenge can be great, especially in situations where your analytes of interest are hard to ionize, or you are limited in the amount of physical sample you have to work with. To overcome these challenges, scientists are turning to miniaturized separation scale columns, either micro scale or nano scale. Miniaturization of HPLC columns, just as with any miniaturization, comes with its unique challenges. In this talk, we will discuss some of the tools for micro- and nano-scale HPLC that are now available in terms of new column technologies, injection modes (trap and elute), and separation condition strategies, and even connection systems that can help with the miniaturization of analytical scale separations to micro and nano scale.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Impact of stationary phase selection on micro columns and trap analysis
  • Learn how to improve overall method robustness and sensitivity within micro and nano scale method development
  • Micro LC fundamentals and a selective approach to trap-and-elute strategies to increase method performance.
  • Chromatographic examples of forward and backward trap-and-elute strategies, trap selectivity comparisons, micro LC column selectivities, and finding the best selectivity strategy for your application.

Speaker: Dr. Jason Anspach, Global Product Manager - HPLC, Phenomenex

Times and Dates: Thursday, November 12, 2020 at 11am EST| 8am PST| 4pm GMT| 5pm CET

On demand available after final airing until Nov. 12, 2021

Sponsor: Phenomenex

Register free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/nano_scale​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​

Related Content:

Webcasts