Shedding a New Light on Adeno-Associated Virus Characterization Using SEC-MALS

Webcast

Thursday, April 7, 2022 at 9am EST | 6am PST | 2pm GMT | 3pm CET Thursday, April 7, 2022 at 2pm EST | 11am PST | 7pm GMT | 8pm CET This webinar will present an analytical method to determine several key AAV quality attributes (capsid titer, absolute molecular weight, empty/full ratio, size, and aggregate content) using size-exclusion chromatography (SEC) coupled to multi-angle light scattering (MALS).

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/new_adeno

Event Overview:

Viral vectors provide one of the major platforms for gene delivery in cell and gene therapy applications. Adeno-associated viruses (AAVs) are rapidly becoming the delivery method of choice due to the possibility to generate capsids optimized to target specific tissues and cells. Development of clinically desirable AAV capsids with optimal genome design requires rapid, accurate, and robust analytical methods to confirm AAV purity, capsid titer, and DNA content.

  • Size exclusion chromatography (SEC), when coupled with multi-angle light scattering (MALS) detection, offers a powerful analytical method for AAV characterization.
  • SEC separation of AAVs combined with the high sensitivity provided by MALS is well-suited for in-line applications and rapid screening of low-titer samples during process development.
  • A comprehensive methodology using SEC coupled with the LenS3 MALS and UV detection for the detailed analysis of AAV and its DNA content will be presented.
  • With new software for the LenS3 MALS, the analysis of purified AAVs allows for the quantification of capsid titer and content ratio, enabled by the correlation between molecular weight and empty vs. full capsid composition.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • How SEC-MALS offers a powerful analytical method for AAV characterization, including capsid titer, size (Rg), absolute molecular weight determination, and empty vs. full capsids ratio in the mixture.
  • How SEC, together with multi-angle light scattering (MALS) and compositional analysis, can help determine the concentration and molecular weight of two distinct components within an AAV sample.
  • How SEC-MALS can separate and identify aggregates and fragments from monomers, providing key information on purity.
  • How to leverage SEC-MALS as a technology for the biophysical characterization of AAV during development, production, and purification stages.

Who Should Attend:

  • Analytical scientists, method developers and quality control personnel working in the biopharmaceutical industry
  • Scientists and managers working in the gene and cell therapy field looking for rapid, robust, and methods to characterize and quantify viral vectors.
  • Managers of academic labs and core facilities developing viruses and non-viral nanoparticles, in need of comprehensive biophysical workflows to quantify and characterize gene vectors.

Speakers

Heidi Vitrac, Ph.D.
Applications Scientist
Tosoh Bioscience LLC

Heidi Vitrac’s academic career in France and in the US has centered around membrane biology and lipid-protein interactions. This work has been in four main productive phases: Her PhD work on the mechanisms of oxidation of biomolecules upon exposure to oxidative stress (2001-2005) was at the University of Paris Descartes. This was followed by post-doctoral research projects on the mechanisms of protein folding at the membrane interface (2006-2007) in Grenoble, France, and continued with the role of lipid-protein interactions in the structure and function of integral membrane proteins at the University of Texas Health Science Center, Houston (2008-2013). As an Assistant Professor at the University of Texas (2013-2020), her research focused on the crosstalk between membrane phospholipid metabolism, bacterial physiology, and stress adaptation. Throughout her research career, she adopted multidisciplinary analytical, biophysical, and biochemical approaches, including multiple modes of chromatography and mass spectrometry (proteomics, lipidomics, and metabolomics) to understand the mechanisms of lipid-dependent defects in the development and progression of diseases.

Heidi joined Tosoh Bioscience LLC in December 2020 as an Applications Scientist, where she is developing analytical chromatography applications on TSKgel columns for the online mass spectrometry characterization of protein biotherapeutics, from monoclonal antibodies to gene therapy delivery systems. She is also currently involved in the development of bioseparation methods combined with the Tosoh LenS3 Multi-Angle Light Scattering Detector, bringing the revolutionary approach for the measurement of molecular weight (MW) and radius of gyration (Rg) to wide-ranging applications on biopolymers, such as polysaccharides, proteins, mAbs and AAVs.

Register free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/new_adeno​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​