Tosoh Bioscience | Authors

Articles

Advanced detection (MALS, MS) for size exclusion analysis of proteins - what it offers and what it demands

Biotherapeutics such as monoclonal antibody-derived molecules as well as their impurity profiles are becoming more complex. That challenges the routinely applied analysis of high- and low-molecular weight impurities by size exclusion chromatography and UV-absorbance. Possible limitations of SEC-UV can be overcome by adding advanced detection technologies such as multiangle light scattering (MALS) and mass spectrometry (MS). This podcast will explain the different detection methods and the results they deliver. Special emphasis will be placed on the higher requirements for size exclusion columns and methods preceding advanced detection methods.

SEC-MALS of Antibody Therapeutics—A Robust Method for In-Depth Sample Characterization

Monoclonal antibodies (mAbs) are effective therapeutics for cancers, auto-immune diseases, viral infections, and other diseases. Recent developments in antibody therapeutics aim to add more specific binding regions (bi- and multi-specificity) to increase their effectiveness and/or to downsize the molecule to the specific binding regions (for example, scFv or Fab fragment) to achieve better penetration of the tissue. As the molecule gets more complex, the possible high and low molecular weight (H/LMW) impurities become more complex, too. In order to accurately analyze the various species, more advanced detection than ultraviolet (UV) is required to characterize a mAb sample.

Shedding a New Light on Adeno-Associated Virus Characterization Using SEC-MALS

Thursday, April 7, 2022 at 9am EST | 6am PST | 2pm GMT | 3pm CET Thursday, April 7, 2022 at 2pm EST | 11am PST | 7pm GMT | 8pm CET This webinar will present an analytical method to determine several key AAV quality attributes (capsid titer, absolute molecular weight, empty/full ratio, size, and aggregate content) using size-exclusion chromatography (SEC) coupled to multi-angle light scattering (MALS).