Shining a Light on Conjugated Polymers with GPC-MALS

Webcasts

Tuesday, July 27, 2021 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST Shining a light on conjugated polymers.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/polymers

Event Overview:

In this webcast, Prof. Alex Zhukhovitskiy will describe the molecular weight characterization of conjugated polymers using gel-permeation chromatography with multi-angle light scattering (GPC-MALS) and viscometry. A brief overview of MALS with viscometry will be given.

The Zhukhovitskiy group is developing a universal methodology for the controlled synthesis of conjugated polymers that span the spectrum of electronic properties. The ability to accurately determine the relationship between the monomer conversion or monomer: catalyst ratio, the molecular weight, and the dispersity of the polymer is essential for a successful program. While GPC-MALS is the state-of-the-art technique to measure absolute molecular weights of polymers, it can yield erroneous results for conjugated polymers which absorb the MALS laser beam and/or fluoresce under excitation by the MALS laser. Additional data from online viscometry is employed to make informed decisions about the significance of these deviations, and to validate the conclusions.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Outstanding challenges in the field of conjugated polymer synthesis
  • The potential pitfalls of conjugated polymer molecular weight characterization via GPC-MALS
  • How universal calibration using viscometry can reinforce the results of GPC-MALS

Who Should Attend:

  • Polymer scientists in need of characterization methods for conjugated electronic polymers
  • Lab managers and analytical chemists seeking to broaden their knowledge in polymer analysis

Speakers

Professor Aleksandr (Alex) Zhukhovitskiy
William R. Kenan Jr. Faculty Fellow, Department of Chemistry
University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill

Nemal Gobalasingham, Ph.D.
Global Training Manager and Application Scientist
Wyatt Technology

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/polymers