The CHROMacademy Essential Guide to: Introduction to Two-Dimensional Liquid Chromatography for Biomolecule Separations

August 10, 2020
Agilent Technologies

Sponsored Content

This webcast will provide an overview of the key concepts required for successful 2D-LC method development, and several examples of recently developed 2D-LC separations of biomolecules. Live: North America: Thursday, Aug. 27, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am EDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST Asia Pacific: Friday, Aug. 28, 2020 at 8:30am IST | 11am CST | 12pm JST Europe: Friday, Aug. 28, 2020 at 2pm BST | 3pm CEST On demand available after final airing until Sept. 28, 2020

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/biomolecule

Event Overview:
Characterization of biomolecule mixtures, such as peptides, proteins and oligonucleotides, is typically quite challenging due to the heterogeneity of the molecules themselves (as a result of extensive glycosylation, for example), and/or the matrices in which they are presented to the analytes, for example, the cell culture supernatant. Increasingly, two-dimensional liquid chromatography (2D-LC) methods are being used to improve the depth of characterization of these mixtures, improve the speed of these analyses, or both. This webcast will provide an overview of the key concepts required for successful 2D-LC method development, and several examples of recently developed 2D-LC separations of biomolecules.

Key Learning Objectives:
Two-dimensional liquid chromatography (2D-LC) is evolving rapidly as a powerful tool for the analysis of complex and difficult-to-separate mixtures of biomolecules. This webcast will provide you with some of the essential concepts behind successful 2D-LC separations, and then illustrate the power of these separations by way of contemporary examples.

Topics Covered

  • Modes of 2D-LC separation
  • Complementarity of separation types (i.e. orthogonality)
  • Managing mobile phase mismatch between dimensions
  • Fast 2D-LC methods for rapid protein characterization
  • Universal 2D-LC methods for deep protein characterization
  • Examples of 2D-LC methods for other molecule types (e.g, peptides, oligos)
  • Development of generic 2D-LC methods

Speaker: Dr. Dwight Stoll, Professor, Gustavus Adolphus College

Time and Date: North America: Thursday, Aug. 27, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am EDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

Asia Pacific: Friday, Aug. 28, 2020 at 8:30am IST | 11am CST | 12pm JST

Europe: Friday, Aug. 28, 2020 at 2pm BST | 3pm CEST
On demand available after final airing until Sept. 28, 2020

Sponsor: Agilent Tecnologies

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/biomolecule