Wyatt Technology Among the 2011 Winners of the Tibbetts Award


Leading provider of analytical light scattering instrumentation awarded Tibbetts Award by the U.S. Small Business Administration.

Wyatt Technology Corporation (Santa Barbara, California) has received the Tibbetts Award from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA, Washington, DC) for its role as a leading provider of analytical light scattering instrumentation. Named for Roland Tibbetts, considered the father of the Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) program, Tibbetts Awards are awarded to companies that exemplify the best in the SBIR program.

Receiving the SBIR award from the Department of Defense in 1982 enabled Dr. Philip J. Wyatt to found Wyatt Technology. The SBIR award is a three-phase award system that encourages scientific and technological innovation by providing recipients with the opportunity to propose, research, and develop ideas considered to be of national importance. After completing Phase I, during which time the feasibility and merit of the idea are evaluated, recipients can qualify for Phase II, which allows innovators to further expand and develop the results attained in Phase I. Those companies, or individuals, that participate in the SBIR Phase I and II award programs become eligible for the Tibbetts Award.

The Tibbetts Award is based on three criteria: technical innovation, business impact, and broader social and economic impact. The technical innovation component examines how the project has advanced national priorities and benefited the federal government or private citizens. Business impact includes factors such as job creation, retention, and revenue growth. Broader social and economic encompasses the roles of women and minorities in the company, regional economic development, and local education connections.

The following companies and individuals were also awarded 2011 Tibbetts Awards: 3-C ISD (Cary, North Carolina), Adaptive Technologies (Blacksburg, Virginia), Advanced Cooling Technologies, Inc. (Lancaster, Pennsylvania), Aerius Photonics, LLC (Ventura, California), Analysis and Measurement Services Corp. (Knoxville, Tennessee), ANP Technologies (Newark, Delaware), ATC–NY (Ithaca, New York), Balfour Technologies LLC (Bethpage, New York), BryCoat, Inc. (Oldsmar, Florida), Colorado Engineering, Inc. (Colorado Springs, Colorado), Cornerstone Research Group (Dayton, Ohio), Corvid Technologies (Mooresville, North Carolina), Fiber Materials (Biddeford, Maine), FIRST RF Corporation (Boulder, Colorado), Harris Vaccines (Ames, Iowa), Hummingbird Scientific (Lacey, Washington), Kitware, Inc. (Clifton Park, New York), Kutta Technologies, Inc. (Phoenix, Arizona), M4 Sciences (West Lafayette, Indiana), MedShape Solutions, Inc. (Atlanta, Georgia), Nanohmics, Inc. (Austin, Texas), Network Foundation Technologies, LLC (Ruston, Louisiana), Numerica (Loveland, Colorado), Ocean Farm Technologies (Morrill, Maine), Operational Technologies Corp. (San Antonio, Texas), Opto–Knowledge Systems, Inc. (Torrance, California), Precision Photonics Corp. (Boulder, Colorado), Quality Electrodynamics, LLC (Mayfield Village, Ohio), Radiance Technologies, Inc. (Huntsville, Alabama), RE2, Inc. (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania), SA Photonics, LLC (Los Gatos, California), Safety Dynamics, Inc. (Louisville, Colorado), Space Micro, Inc. (San Diego, California), Total Quality Systems, Inc. (Roy, Utah), Touch Graphics, Inc. (New York, New York), Trex Hawaii–Advanced Materials Group (Lihue, Hawaii), Variation Reduction Solutions, Inc. (Plymouth, Michigan), Vecna Technologies, Inc. (Cambridge, Massachusetts), ViewPlus Technologies, Inc. (Corvallis, Oregon), Viocare, Inc. (Princeton, New Jersey), Weidlinger Associates, Inc. (Mountain View, California), Williams–Pyro, Inc. (Fort Worth, Texas), Windmill International, Inc. (Nashua, New Hampshire), Abraham Abuchowski, (Prolong Pharmaceuticals, South Plainfield, New Jersey), Marti Elder (Bozeman, Montana; U.S. Dept. of Energy, Washington, DC), Douglas Maughan (Washington, DC), John H. Ruehe (Phacil, Inc., Fort Belvoir, Virginia), Mikhail Plam (Boulder, Colorado), James Stover (Nashville, Tennessee, NAVAIR Team, Maryland).

Related Videos
Toby Astill | Image Credit: © Thermo Fisher Scientific
Related Content