ChromSoc Announces 2023 Martin and Jubilee Awards at HPLC 2023

Published on: 

Tony Edge, President of the Chromatographic Society (ChromSoc), announced the winners of both the 2023 Martin and the Silver Jubilee Awards as Professor Janusz Pawliszyn (University of Waterloo, Canada) and Jared Anderson (Iowa State University, USA), respectively.

Martin Medal Winner: Professor Janusz Pawliszyn

The Martin Medal is named after Professor A.J.P. Martin who, together with Richard Synge, received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1952 for their seminal work on partition chromatography. The award represents the highest honour that the ChromSoc offers.

Janusz Pawliszyn became a professor in 1988. He received funding from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council and subsequently developed the solid-phase microextraction (SPME) technique that uses a solid coating on a sample probe to selectively extract chemical substances from biological matrices.


SPME is used in many areas of sampling and analysis. Although Pawliszyn is associated with SPME, he has conducted research in other areas of sample preparation, and his work has become increasingly focused on sustainable chemistry. Another major interest is the design of highly automated and integrated instruments to isolate analytes from complex matrices and their subsequent separation, identification, and determination of these species using gas chromatography (GC), liquid chromatography (LC), and capillary electrophoresis (CE) coupled to a variety of detections systems, including mass spectrometry (MS).

Other current research interests involve imaging detection techniques for microcolumn chromatography, CE, and microchip separation devices. He has supervised 50 Ph.D. and 65 M.Sc. students and has authored more than 650 scientific publications (21 patents) and a book on SPME. His Hirsch Index (H-index) is 102.

Jubilee Medal Winner: Professor Jared L. Anderson

The Jubilee Medal was created in 1982 to mark the 25th anniversary of ChromSoc, with the intention of recognizing up-and-coming separation scientists who have made major use of separation science in their own field or have made important contributions to a particular area of separation science.

Jared L. Anderson joined the chemistry faculty of Iowa State University in August 2015. His research focuses on a wide range of separation science and sample preparation techniques. He is specifically interested in employing and understanding the role that ionic liquids (ILs) and polymeric ionic liquids (PILs) play in chromatographic separations and sample preparation, particularly for microextraction-based techniques.

Anderson’s research interests include the application of magnetic ionic liquids in nucleic acid extraction and preservation, the analysis of genotoxic impurities and residual solvents in active pharmaceutical ingredients, and the development of new stationary phases for the analysis of complex samples using comprehensive two-dimensional GC. He currently holds seven patents and has published over 180 peer-reviewed publications, five book chapters, and has co-edited a book series published by Wiley titled Analytical Separation Science. His H-index is 52.