Dal Nogare award


The 2011 Dal Nogare award has been presented to Janusz Pawliszyn at Pittcon 2011.

The 2011 Dal Nogare award has been presented to Janusz Pawliszyn at Pittcon 2011. The Dal Nogare award is presented by the Chromatography Forum of Delaware Valley to a scientist who has made a significant contribution in the field of chromatography.

Professor Pawliszyn, who works at the Department of Chemistry, University of Waterloo, Ontario, Canada, is best known for his work in the development of solid-phase microextraction (SPME). His primary research focus is on the development of highly automated and integrated instrumentation for the isolation of analytes in complex matrices and on the separation, identification and determination of these species. His group uses a variety of separation techniques, including gas chromatography, liquid chromatography and capillary electrophoresis.

He is the author of over 400 scientific publications and books on solid-phase microextraction, and has received many awards including the 1995 McBryde Medal; the 1996 Tswett Medal; the 1996 Hyphenated Techniques in Chromatography Award; the 1996 Caledon Award; the Jubilee Medal 1998 from the Chromatographic Society, UK; the 2000 Maxxam Award; the Alumni Achievement Award for 2000 from Southern Illinois University; the Humboldt Research Award for 2001; the 2002 COLACRO Medal; the 2008 A.A. Benedetti-Pichler Award from Eastern Analytical Symposium; the 2008 Principal Manning Innovation Awardance; the 2010 Torbern Bergman Medal from the Swedish Chemical Society; the 2010 Marcel Golay Award; the 2010 Ontario Premier’s Innovation Award; and the 2010 ACS Award in Separation Science and Technology.

Related Content