EDITORS’ SERIES: Considering Speed and Throughput in HPLC Sample Preparation

May 15, 2020

Sponsored Content

Good analytical chemistry requires good sample preparation, and your sample preparation choices and technique will have significant impacts on the “down the road” portions of your method. Join us for this webcast to learn more about how to choose the right sample preparation method for your sample and key principles to consider in your development and execution of sample preparation methods-while keeping speed and throughput in mind. Live: Friday, May 15, 2020, at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST On demand available after final airing until May 15, 2021

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/speed_throughput

Event Overview:
In high-performance liquid chromatography (HPLC) as in all chromatographic techniques, analysts tend to focus method development effort on the chromatography while paying less attention to sample preparation. In this webinar we will discusses sample preparation techniques commonly used with HPLC, with good chemistry, speed, and throughput in mind. We will begin with a discussion of equilibrium and kinetic fundamentals and techniques that are common to nearly all sample preparation methods, from the simplest “dilute and shoot” procedures to complex biological sample extractions. Next, fundamental techniques, including dilution (it’s not as simple as you think), filtration, classical extractions, solid-phase extraction, QuEChERS, and sorbent-based extractions will be discussed in light of the fundamental principles. We will discuss key points in method optimization and pitfalls for each technique. The potential impact of sample preparation choices and good technique on the “down the road” portions of a method will be discussed as will the impact of “down the road” choices, such as columns and detectors on sample preparation. Participants in this webinar will see some of the many interrelationships between the many steps in a fully developed HPLC method.  

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Equilibrium and kinetic fundamentals and techniques that are common to nearly all sample preparation method

  • How to think about sample preparation techniques in light of the fundamental principles of sample preparation and good chemistry

  • Key points in method optimization and pitfalls for each technique (dilution, filtration, classical extractions, solid-phase extraction, QuEChERS, and sorbent-based extractions)

  • Potential impacts of sample preparation choices and good technique on the “down the road” portions of a method

Speakers: Nicholas H. Snow, Founding Endowed Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry and Adjunct Professor of Medical Science, Seton Hall University

Time and Date: Friday, May 15, 2020, at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

On demand available after airing until May 15, 2021.

Sponsor: Sartorius

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/speed_throughput