High-Throughput Analysis of Volatile Impurities in Sustainable Packaging using SIFT-MS

Published on: 

Webcasts

Webinar Date/Time: Airing 1: Tuesday January 17, 2023 at 9am EST | 2pm GMT | 3pm CET Airing 2: Tuesday January 17, 2023 at 2pm EST | 1pm CST | 11am PST

Join us for this web seminar to learn how automated, high-throughput MS analysis without any chromatographic separation can provide fast, sensitive, selective, and robust analysis of volatile compounds in polymeric and paper-based packaging materials at trace levels. SIFT-MS analyzes diverse volatiles, such as formaldehyde, benzene, and organosulfur compounds, with ease.

Register Free: https://globalmeet.webcasts.com/starthere.jsp?ei=1587863&tp_key=6d1a9ecfbd

Event Overview:

Pharmaceutical and food products are susceptible to contamination from packaging, whether from polymeric materials, printing inks, or paperboard. Traditional analytical techniques applied to trace volatiles analysis typically require significant sample preparation and have low throughput. The resulting high cost of analysis means that only limited sample screening is conducted. This is especially problematic in the drive toward sustainable packaging because both paper-based and recycled polymer packaging systems have a higher risk of introducing volatile contaminants that are harmful and/or cause taints.

Adoption of SIFT-MS, a high-sensitivity direct-injection mass spectrometry technique, enables risks associated with sustainable packaging alternatives to be mitigated through economical, high-throughput automated analysis (typically a 4- to 15-fold increase over GC-MS). After introducing the SIFT-MS technique, detailed case studies will describe its applications in polymeric and paperboard emissions analysis. These include:

  • Simplified analysis of benzene and volatile MOSH and MOAH in packaging
  • Derivatization-free analysis of formaldehyde from polyoxymethylene polymer
  • Untargeted screening of polypropylene recyclate
  • Instrument-based sensory screening of paper-based packaging materials.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Polymer R&D engineers and scientists
  • Polymer processors and raw materials suppliers
  • Recyclers of packaging and polymers
  • Pharma E&L scientists
  • Food processors
  • Sensory scientists and technologists
  • QA/QC managers and scientists


Speakers:

Mark Perkins, PhD
Senior Application
Chemist & SIFT-MS
Specialist
Element Materials
Technology Laboratory
Instrumentation UK Ltd.,
United Kingdom

Mark Perkins is a senior applications chemist at Element Materials Technology Laboratory Instrumentation in Cambridge, United Kingdom (formerly Anatune), and a global authority in automated SIFT-MS. Mark has extensive experience in both conventional chromatographic methods as well as SIFT-MS. Prior to joining Anatune in 2015, he spent 12 years as a senior analyst and chromatography section manager at the Malaysian Rubber Board’s UK research center, working on regulated pharmaceutical applications within a GMP environment.

Vaughan Langford, PhD
Principal Scientist
Syft Technologies, New Zealand

Vaughan Langford joined Syft Technologies in 2002 after completing his PhD in Physical Chemistry at the University of Canterbury, and post-doctoral fellowships at the Universities of Geneva, Western Australia, and Canterbury. With an extensive background in diverse applications of SIFT-MS, and over 30 peer-reviewed publications, he provides advanced applications support to SIFT-MS users globally.

Register Free: https://globalmeet.webcasts.com/starthere.jsp?ei=1587863&tp_key=6d1a9ecfbd