In-depth Characterization of Biopharmaceuticals by Multi-dimensional LC/MS

Webcasts

Monday, February 28, 2022 at 11am EST | 8am PST | 4pm GMT **Monday, February 28, 2022 at 2pm EST | 11am PST | 7pm GMT**Tuesday, March 1, 2022 at 12pm JST | 11am CST | 3am GMT An emerging tool to tackle the complexity of biopharmaceutical analysis is multidimensional liquid chromatography (LC). This webcast will highlight the power of 2D-, 3D- and 4D-LC in hyphenation to mass spectrometry (MS) for the detailed characterization of protein biopharmaceuticals.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/in_depth_biopharm

Event Overview:
Protein biopharmaceuticals have emerged as important for the treatment of various diseases. Protein biopharmaceuticals are structurally diverse and include monoclonal antibodies (mAbs), antibody drug conjugates (ADCs), fusion proteins, hormones, growth factors, cytokines, therapeutic enzymes, vaccines, and anticoagulants. These molecules have substantially reshaped the pharmaceutical market and today over 350 products have been approved in the United States and the European Union. These biopharmaceutical products account for a total sales value of $200 billion which represents around a quarter of the total pharmaceutical market.

The structural complexity of these molecules presents an enormous analytical challenge for characterization and manufacturing QC. Unlike small molecule drugs, biopharmaceuticals are large – mAbs have a molecular weight of ~150 kDa – and heterogeneous – due to variability of biosynthetic processes and sensitivity to manufacturing and storage conditions.

An emerging tool to tackle this complexity is multidimensional liquid chromatography (LC). The current lecture will highlight the power of 2D-, 3D- and 4D-LC in hyphenation to mass spectrometry (MS) for the detailed characterization of protein biopharmaceuticals.

Key Learning Objectives

  • The power of 2D-LC
    • Resolution
    • Orthogonal / complementary information
    • MS compatibility
  • Introduction to protein biopharmaceuticals
  • Comprehensive LC×LC for peptide mapping and surfactant characterization
  • (Multiple) heart-cutting LC–LC/MS of monoclonal antibodies and antibody drug conjugates
  • 3D- and 4D-LC/MS based multi-attribute analysis of antibodies

Speakers

Koen Sandra
CEO and Co-Owner at RIC Group
Visiting Professor, Ghent University in Belgium

Koen Sandra received a PhD degree in Biochemistry from the Ghent University, Belgium in 2005. After his PhD, he joined Pronota, a molecular diagnostics company where he was active in developing analytical platforms for disease biomarker discovery and in setting up external collaborations. In 2008, he joined RIC, a company that provides chromatographic, electrophoretic and mass spectrometric support to the chemical, life sciences and pharmaceutical industries, where he holds the position of CEO. As a non-academic scientist, Koen Sandra is author of over 50 highly cited scientific papers and has presented his work at numerous conferences as an invited speaker.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/in_depth_biopharm