Personal External Exposome: How Wristbands and GC-High Resolution MS Have the Answers

September 3, 2020
Thermo Fisher Scientific

Sponsored Content

Learn how silicone wristbands in combination with GC with high-resolution MS can be used to profile our personal exposure to environmental contaminants. Wednesday, September 30. 2020 at 11am EDT| 8am PDT| 4pm BST| 5pm CEST On demand available after final airing until Sept. 30, 2021.

Register free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/exposome

Event Overview:

Silicone wristbands offer a non-invasive route to assessing and characterizing human exposure to organic contaminants present in a variety of settings. With a wide range of potential contaminants at varying concentrations and the need for an untargeted acquisition, GC with high-resolution mass spectrometry (GC–HRMS) has become a valuable tool for this comprehensive profiling. In this webcast, we will take a closer look at known and unknown compounds that were detected on silicone wristbands and how high-resolution MS increases confidence in compound identifications. In addition, we will look at how it was possible to identify potentially novel biomarkers following in vitro human hepatic metabolism of organophosphorus flame retardants (OPFRs). All together, these studies will show how GC–HRMS can offer an efficient sample workflow, increased confidence in compound identity, and lower detection limits for these environmental contaminants.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Learn how silicone wristbands can be used to assess human exposure to contaminants.
  • Learn how GC with high-resolution MS is being used to detect and quantify target compounds using efficient workflows.
  • Learn how unknown compounds can be detected and proposed identifications can increase our understanding of emerging contaminants.

Speakers: 

Nicholas Herkert, Ph.D., Research Project Manager, Duke University Nicholas School of the Environment

Time and Date: Wednesday, September 30. 2020 at 11am EDT| 8am PDT| 4pm BST| 5pm CEST

On demand available after final airing until Sept. 30, 2021.

Sponsor: Thermo Fisher Scientific

Register free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/exposome