PFAS in Water Treatment Plants: Analysis, Sources, Fate, and Environmental Impact

Agilent Technologies
Sponsored Content

Learn the importance and impacts of PFAS in water treatment plants Live: Europe: Thursday, Jan. 24, 2019 at 2pm GMT | 3pm CET North America: Thursday, Jan. 24, 2019 at 2pm EST |1pm CST |11am PST Asia Pacific: Friday, Jan. 25, 2019 at 8:30am IST | 11am CST | 12pm JST On Demand: available after airing until Jan. 25, 2020. Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/treatment

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/treatment

Per- and poly-fluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) are a group of manmade pollutants that pose an emerging risk to the water sector, challenging established practices such as water reuse and environmental discharges. They are omnipresent in water, air, food, wildlife, and humans, are resistant to typical environmental degradation processes, and can have negative impacts on exposed organisms. Most PFAS are recalcitrant through conventional water treatment processes and, therefore, wastewater effluents can contain PFAS that have originated from domestic and industrial sources. Understanding the environmental sources of PFAS is of high importance across the globe with new regulations and guidelines being implemented. Further, the production and identification of new PFAS requires a robust method to measure both legacy and emerging PFAS in the environment and extremely low levels to provide baseline monitoring data for further regulatory evaluation and water treatment practices. In this webcast the following topics will be covered: an overview of analytical techniques for measuring >50 legacy and emerging PFAS in liquid and solid matrices, mass flux through wastewater treatment plants, estimation of environmental discharges from wastewater effluent and biosolids, and a discussion of environmental impact.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • An overview of the analytical methodology for measuring legacy & emerging PFAS in aqueous and solids matrices

  • Mass flux, fate and behavior of PFAS through wastewater treatment plants

  • Estimation of environmental impacts of wastewater effluent discharges

Speaker: Dr. Bradley Clarke, Senior Lecturer in Environmental Science, RMIT University (Melbourne, Australia)

Time and date:
Europe: Thursday, Jan. 24, 2019 at 2pm GMT | 3pm CET
North America: Thursday, Jan. 24, 2019 at 2pm EST |1pm CST |11am PST
Asia Pacific: Friday, Jan. 25, 2019 at 8:30am IST | 11am CST | 12pm JST
On demand available after airing until Jan. 25, 2020.

Sponsor: Agilent Technologies

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/treatment