The Rights and Wrongs of Mobile Phase Preparation

***Live: Tuesday, June 15, 2021 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST*** Let us walk you through a typical mobile phase preparation process highlighting how to avoid common pitfalls such as contamination from glassware, selecting the wrong buffer salt form, mixing organic and aqueous in the incorrect order, filtering with an inappropriate membrane and much, much more. After watching this webcast there will be much more right than wrong with your mobile phase preparation.*** On demand available after final airing until June 15, 2022.***

Register free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/mobile_phase

Key Learning Objectives

Mobile phase preparation - What could possibly go wrong? Weigh your buffer, quick pH check, measure out the organic, and mix it altogether, Bob’s your uncle – the perfect mobile phase ready to go. If only it were that simple. Let us walk you through a typical mobile phase preparation process highlighting how to avoid common pitfalls such as contamination from glassware, selecting the wrong buffer salt form, mixing organic and aqueous in the incorrect order, filtering with an inappropriate membrane and much, much more. After watching this webcast there will be much more right than wrong with your mobile phase preparation.

Topics Covered:

  • Introduction – The role of mobile phase
    • Why mobile phase preparation consistency is important
  • Pre-preparation
    • Glassware selection and cleaning
    • Weight and volume calculation
    • Reagent quality and salt form
    • Buffers
  • Preparation
    • Balance calibration
    • Weighing and dissolving
  • pH adjustment
  • Mixing buffer and organic
  • Filtering/degassing

Speakers: Dr. Dawn Watson, CHROMacademy Technical Expert, Crawford Scientific

Colin Towers, Technical Support Chemist Crawford Scientific

Time and Date: Tuesday, June 15, 2021 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

On demand available after final airing until June 15, 2021

Sponsor: ELGA VEOLIA

Register free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/mobile_phase