Benchmarking Q Exactive HF-X for Shotgun Proteomics

Thermo Fisher Scientific
Sponsored Content

Professor Jesper Olsen sets a new world record for identifying the maximum number of unique peptides per minute. Time and Date: Friday, Sept. 29, 2017 | 11 am EDT | 8 am PDT | 4 pm BST | 5 pm CEST / On Demand available until Sept. 29, 2018 Register Free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/benchmarking

Register Free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/benchmarking

The standard shotgun proteomics workflow consists of proteolytic digestion of complex protein mixtures and analysis of the resulting peptide mixtures by nano LC-MS/MS. With advances in mass resolution, mass accuracy, fragmentation technology, and speed, bottom-up analysis can identify more proteins in more complex samples than ever. Moreover, the techniques and principles involved are generally foundational for more complex experiments. Here, we evaluate the performance of the newly introduced Thermo Scientific Q Exactive HF-X Hybrid Quadrupole-Orbitrap mass spectrometer. Various MS methods and LC gradient lengths were evaluated for bottom-up proteomics. The largest gains were found at ultrashort gradients with a fast acquisition method resulting in more than 1,100 unique peptide sequences per minute. Additional data will be shown for phosphoproteomics with tandem isobaric mass tag (TMT10-plex) and data-independent acquisition (DIA) analysis on the new Q Exactive HF-X  mass spectrometer.

Join us to hear how:

  • Professor Jesper Olsen set a new world record identifying 1,100 unique peptides in one minute

  • Complex proteomic cell originated from a human HeLa cell line was analyzed by the Thermo Scientific Q Exactive HF-X mass spectrometer

Speaker: Jesper Olsen, Ph.D, Full Professor, Novo Nordisk Foundation Center for Protein Research (CPR), University of Copenhagen 

Live: Friday, 29 Sept., 2017 | 11 am EDT | 8 am PDT | 1600 BST | 1700 CEST / On Demand available aftering airing until Sept. 29, 2018. 

Sponsor: Thermo Fisher Scientific

Register Free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/benchmarking