Finding Faster and More Effective Solvent Extraction Methods for Polymers

Webcasts

Wed, Oct 26, 2022 11:00 AM EDT Plastics are an integral part of everyday life but analyzing their composition can be a challenge. Tune in to learn about a variety of extraction techniques that will increase sample throughput while yielding superior sample prep.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/solvent

Event Overview:

Plastics are an integral part of everyday life. Often additives, like antioxidants, are added to these polymers to preserve their integrity. For quality and safety purposes, their final concentration must be monitored. Herein, Irganox 1076 and Irganox 1010 were extracted from film using three different CEM extraction systems: MARS 6, Discover 2.0, and EDGE. While the MARS 6 is regarded as a validated method for this application, the Discover 2.0 and EDGE have not yet been through the validation process even though both systems are widely used in this area. A rigorous comparison of the results obtained from Discover 2.0 and EDGE demonstrated that Discover 2.0 and EDGE extracted the additives from film with high recoveries and low standard deviations, with comparable results to the MARS 6. All three systems, the MARS 6, Discover 2.0, and EDGE are reliable options for efficient, repeatable extractions.

Key Learning:

  • Learn about additives in plastics and how best to analyze their concentrations
  • Apply a variety of extraction techniques to increase sample throughput while operating within an existing workflow
  • Compare rapid extraction systems with validated methods

Speakers:

Alicia D. Stell, PhD
Product Manager, Organic
Solutions Division
CEM Corporation

Times and Date:

Wednesday, October 26, 2022 at 8 PST | 11am EST | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

Sponsor:

CEM

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/solvent