High-Sensitivity and High-Throughput Food and Flavour Marker Analysis in Real-time

Webcast

*** Tuesday, June 8, 2021 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST*** Join us for this web seminar to learn how direct MS analysis without any front-end separation can provide fast, sensitive, selective, and robust analysis of volatile compounds in food at trace levels. Topics will cover diverse high-throughput food analysis applications, from sensory to R&D laboratories right through to process-line QA.***On demand available after final airing until June 8, 2022*

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/analysis

Event Overview:
Development and release of volatile compounds from food products is dynamic. Conventional analytical technologies (GC–MS and others) often lack the time resolution and responsiveness. These are required to provide rapid feedback on aroma and markers, for example., for freshness, to product developers, quality managers and process-line operations. Additionally, with the ever-increasing number of food samples to be analyzed in a short time, throughput becomes an issue with conventional separation technologies. This web seminar will introduce selected ion flow tube mass spectrometry (SIFT-MS) – a recent tool to advance the food chemist’s analytical kit. SIFT-MS is applied for fast, sensitive, selective, and robust analysis of volatile compounds in food directly and with headspace at trace levels. SIFT-MS analyzes chemically diverse flavor, packaging and marker compounds like for freshness/degradation monitoring in real-time, including amines, organosulfurs and volatile fatty acids.

We will describe the benefits of SIFT-MS for flavour analysis using various application examples:

  • Objective sensory screening
  • Packaging testing
  • Process quality assurance applications
  • Freshness marker monitoring

Key Learning Objectives:

  • The fundamental features of SIFT-MS (selected ion flow tube mass spectrometry), including its ability to analyze samples selectively and comprehensively in a simple and ultrafast procedure.
  • How real-time analysis using SIFT-MS can provide great insight into flavour, packaging and process marker release and monitoring.
  • Understand how SIFT-MS can enhance new product development, through to product QA/QC, saving time and money, and reducing product losses.

Speakers: Mark Perkins, PhD, Senior Application Chemist & SIFT-MS Specialist, Anatune Ltd.

Vaughan Langford, PhD, Principal Scientist, Syft Technologies

Times and Dates: Tuesday, June 8, 2021 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

On Demand Until June 8, 2022

Sponsor: Syft Technologies

Register free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/analysis