Simplified Sugar Analysis – A Rapid and Reliable Method for the Analysis of Sugars in Maple Syrup by HILIC with Refractive Index Detection

Webcasts

Wednesday, July 14, 2021 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST Quantification of sugar content in maple syrup is paramount to satisfy product labeling requirements and ensure label-claim accuracy. Join our webinar to discover a fast and robust method for chromatographic separation and quantitation of four sugars using a HPLC with RI detection.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/sugar_analysis

Event Overview:

Maple syrup, a common natural sweetener, is consumed regularly in households around the world. Quantification of sugar content in maple syrup is vital to satisfy product labeling requirements and ensure label-claim accuracy. Although sucrose is the primary sugar component in maple syrup, a complete identification and quantification of the other complex carbohydrates, including glucose, fructose and maltose, is essential.

In this Webcast, we present a robust and efficient method for the determination of the four aforementioned complex carbohydrates is presented. Utilizing an HPLC system, a hydrophilic interaction chromatography (HILIC) technique is utilized with subsequent detection achieved utilizing a refractive index (RI) detector.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Learn about the latest advanced LC techniques used to analyze syrups and sugars
  • Discover a fast and robust method for chromatographic separation and quantitation of four sugars using a HPLC with RI detection
  • Learn more about RI technology and its food safety and quality analysis capabilities

Who Should Attend:

  • Laboratory directors
  • Analytical Scientist or scientists
  • Laboratory managers
  • Procurement manager

Speakers

Michael T. Costanzo, Ph.D.
Sr. Field Applications Scientist
PerkinElmer, Inc.

Mike Costanzo has over a decade of laboratory experience specializing in MS, LC, and DMS/FAIMS utilization over a wide range of applications. He received his Ph.D. in Analytical Chemistry from the University of Florida studying under Dr. Rick Yost, conducting research on a variety of novel techniques and instruments, often specializing in bioanalytical applications, among others, including environmental and cannabis. Upon graduation, Mike became the CTO of a small biotech startup in Florida that further expanded on his graduate research and aimed at developing a novel device for disease diagnostics by analysis of exhaled breath. After a few years, he joined the PerkinElmer team as a Sr. Field Applications Scientist for LC and LC–MS/MS, with notable applications covering the cannabis, environmental, food, and pharma industries.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/sugar_analysis