Thermal Desorption-Direct MS: A Breakthrough in Analysis Speed and Throughput

Sponsored Content

Thermal desorption-selected ion flow tube mass spectrometry (TD-SIFT-MS) is a breakthrough in thermal desorption tube analysis, quantifying to sub-nanogram concentrations and with throughputs of up to 20 tubes per hour. Join Kurt Thaxton and Vaughan Langford to learn how automated SIFT-MS simplifies complex analyses, cuts laboratory costs and reduces sample turnaround times, delivering competitive advantage. Live: Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2019 at 11am EST | 8am PST | 4pm GMT | 5pm CET On demand available after airing until Nov. 20, 2020. Register free

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/breakthrough

Event Overview:

Sample throughput is often a critical bottleneck for thermal desorption tube (TDT) analysis in the contract testing or research laboratory. By coupling in-line thermal desorption (TD) with selected ion flow tube mass spectrometry, throughputs of up to 20 tubes per hour can be achieved per instrument.

This webcast will introduce SIFT-MS, a direct mass spectrometry technique that provides real-time detection of volatile organic compounds and many inorganic gases to sub-part-per-billion concentrations (by volume; ppbV), and explain the rationale behind seamlessly integrating TD with SIFT-MS. In short, the benefits of coupling TD and SIFT-MS are economic distributed sampling (such as for US EPA Method 325) and much higher throughput for an industry-standard sampling media. Analytical performance of TD-SIFT-MS will be described together with a variety of case studies drawn from:

  • Vehicle interior air quality (VIAQ) analysis

  • Environmental monitoring

  • Breath research

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Learn the fundamentals of the SIFT-MS technique and the benefits of fully integrating thermal desorption

  • Observe the throughput gains achievable with SIFT-MS for a variety of routine and research lab applications

  • Learn how automated thermal desorption analysis using SIFT-MS provides new application and product insights due to simultaneous desorption and analysis

Speakers: Kurt Thaxton, International Product Manager, Pyrolysis and Thermal Desorption, GERSTEL, Germany

Vaughan Langford, PhD, Principal Scientist, Syft Technologies, New Zealand

Time and date: Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2019 at 11am EST | 8am PST | 4pm GMT | 5pm CET

On demand available after airing until Nov. 20 2020.

Sponsor: Syft Technologies Inc.

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/breakthrough