Tips and Tricks to Improve Essential Lab Practices: Weighing, Pipetting, and Using Volumetric Glassware

June 30, 2020

Sponsored Content

Join us to learn some best practices and essential tips and tricks for improving the essential lab tasks of weighing, pipetting, and using volumetric glassware. Time and Date: Tuesday, Jun. 30, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST On demand available after final airing until Jun. 30, 2021

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/essential_lab_practices

Event Overview:
Every analyst must carry out fundamental lab tasks every day, such as, weighing, pipetting, and using volumetric glassware. Use of these everyday pieces of equipment should be straightforward, however, even the most basic tasks can be improved to ensure better analytical results. Therefore, we will provide you with some tips and tricks that everyone can apply to their routine lab practices.

Making a mistake when weighing, pipetting, or measuring a sample or components that make up your HPLC eluent can cause numerous analytical errors which can be incredibly difficult to troubleshoot. Therefore, join us to learn some best practices and essential tips and tricks for improving the essential lab tasks of weighing, pipetting, and using volumetric glassware.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Balances

  • Selecting the correct balance

  • Importance of balance location

  • Weighing with balances

  • Problems when weighing

  • Pipetting

  • Modes of pipetting

  • Choosing the correct pipette

  • Importance of pipette tips

  • Pipette care and maintenance

  • Volumetric glassware

  • Selection and use of volumetric glassware

  • Volumetric glassware accuracy and calibration

Speaker: Dr. Dawn Watson, CHROMacademy Technical Expert, Crawford Scientific

Time and Date: Tuesday, Jun. 30, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

On demand available after airing until Jun. 30, 2021.

Sponsor: Sartorius

Register free: http://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/essential_lab_practices