A New Dimension in UHPLC: 1.5 mm ID Columns for Robust Separations with Increased Sensitivity and Solvent Savings

Webcasts

Wednesday, February 16, 2022 at 9am EST | 6am PST | 3pm CET | 2pm GMT Wednesday, February 16, 2022 at 2pm EST | 11am PST | 8pm CET | 7pm GMT Interested in increasing the sensitivity of your UHPLC separations and save solvent without having to invest in a specialized microflow system? Learn how to accomplish these goals with new 1.5 mm ID UHPLC columns packed with Fused-Core particles.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/robust_amtech

Event Overview:

Introducing a new dimension in separations! The new 1.5 mm ID UHPLC columns from Advanced Materials Technology push the performance of UHPLC systems by delivering more sensitivity and 50% less solvent consumption than 2.1 mm ID columns and due to their hardware design, offer ease of implementation allowing for their use on commercial UHPLC instrumentation. . The benefits of moving from 2.1 mm to the new, robust 1.5 mm ID columns will be demonstrated using low molecular weight pharmaceuticals. An additional biopharmaceutical case study will be presented using the LCMS analysis of intact and reduced trastuzumab. The impact of reduced dispersion through LC and LCMS system optimization including proper selection of connecting tubing will also be highlighted.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Learn the benefits of using 1.5 mm ID UHPLC columns
  • Understand the impact of extracolumn dispersion on UHPLC separations
  • Successfully implement 1.5 mm ID UHPLC columns into existing workflows

Who Should Attend:

  • Scientists looking to increase the sensitivity and gain signal intensity of their analytes in their separations as well as reduce solvent consumption and minimize mobile phase preparation.

Speakers

James P. Grinias, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Rowan University

Dr. James Grinias is currently an Associate Professor in the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry at Rowan University, with research interests focused on liquid chromatography and microfluidics. He received his B.S. in chemistry from Eastern Michigan University and his Ph.D. in analytical chemistry at the University of North Carolina where he was also the recipient of a NSF Graduate Research Fellowship. James is the recipient of multiple awards in the field of chromatography, including the Csaba Horváth Young Scientist Award, ACS Satinder Ahuja Award for Young Investigators in Separation Science, NSF CAREER Award, and the LCGC Emerging Leader in Chromatography Award. He is an active member of the Chromatography Forum of Delaware Valley and the ACS Subdivision on Chromatography & Separations Chemistry.

Stephanie A. Schuster, Ph.D.
Senior Technical Support Scientist
Advanced Materials Technology, Inc.

Dr. Stephanie A. Schuster earned her Bachelor of Arts degree in Chemistry and Biochemistry in 1998 at La Salle University, where she graduated cum Laude from the Honors Program. She earned her Ph.D. in 2007 under the guidance of Professor Joe P. Foley at Drexel University. Her doctoral dissertation focused on the use of vesicles as pseudostationary phases in capillary electrophoresis. This system was investigated as a potential in vitro model for intestinal permeability.

After earning her Ph.D. at Drexel, Dr. Schuster joined Atlantic Diagnostic Laboratories (ADL), a combined clinical and forensic testing laboratory. While at ADL, she authored a procedure manual, and co-authored or contributed to other documentation, in preparation for College of American Pathology (CAP) inspection. She was instrumental in implementing general laboratory improvements (appropriate labeling, daily maintenance logs, etc.) in accordance with CAP guidelines. Dr. Schuster also assisted with method development using an Applied Biosystems 3200 Q TRAP LC/MS/MS System.

Beginning in June of 2009, Dr. Schuster joined Advanced Materials Technology, Inc. (AMT) located in Wilmington, DE as a research scientist working with Dr. Jack Kirkland, providing contributions to the commercial development of products specifically designed for the separation of peptides and proteins. During the summer of 2015, Dr. Schuster began to transition away from research and development activities and more toward applications development and quality assurance. She is currently a Senior Technical Support Scientist at AMT. As such, Dr. Schuster works closely with AMT’s worldwide network of distributors and assists customers with optimizing and trouble-shooting their applications. Her primary interests are separations and novel materials development. Dr. Schuster has several peer-reviewed articles and is currently a member of the Chromatography Forum of the Delaware Valley.

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/robust_amtech